Rwanda
EVS Rwanda EV Service Centre Market Entry
Decision-grade Rwanda assessment separating fully electric passenger cars from non-separated hybrids, electric motorcycles, buses, charging sites, swap facilities, incentives and EVS assumptions.
Sourced 2024 fully electric cars; hybrids excluded.
Public car-charging sites as of Aug-2024; not live connectors.
Modelled independent-reach jobs/year; not booked demand.
Base simple payback on RWF20m reversible capex.
The verdict in full
- Conditional go for one reversible Kigali partner bay only. Rwanda had 512 fully electric cars in 2024; 6,660 hybrids are excluded because their PHEV share is not separable. [newtimes_stock]
- The car opportunity is small but measurable. Applying explicit active, city, independent-reach, event and price assumptions produces 282 SAM jobs and RWF70,500,000 annual revenue; executable SOM is zero.
- Motorcycles and buses are separate ecosystems. More than 4,000 Ampersand motorcycles and BasiGo bus operations do not become independent passenger-car demand. [ampersand_4k] [basigo_service]
- No standalone centre, franchise sale or traction-pack/repurposing work.
Board Decision
Authorise current-register, legal, partner and paid-demand diligence. Release no more than RWF20,000,000 reversible capex only after every gate passes. Base steady state is 180 jobs, RWF45.0m revenue, RWF3.9m EBITDA and 5.13-year simple payback; all economics are EVS assumptions.
Decision Summary
| Dimension | Decision | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Market entry | CONDITIONAL GO — one reversible Kigali partner bay | Only after current stock, paid demand, garage licensing, capability and safety gates pass. |
| Standalone centre / franchise | NO-GO now | The sourced 512-car BEV stock cannot support irreversible premises or territory without a live district/status extract. |
| Traction-battery work | HOLD | No pack opening, removal, storage, transport or repurposing until written RICA/RURA/REMA/fire/insurer/recipient approvals. |
- Decision
- CONDITIONAL GO — one reversible Kigali partner bay
- Reason
- Only after current stock, paid demand, garage licensing, capability and safety gates pass.
- Decision
- NO-GO now
- Reason
- The sourced 512-car BEV stock cannot support irreversible premises or territory without a live district/status extract.
- Decision
- HOLD
- Reason
- No pack opening, removal, storage, transport or repurposing until written RICA/RURA/REMA/fire/insurer/recipient approvals.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Market size
Rwanda offers a verified 2024 BEV-car anchor and strong policy direction, but the absolute passenger base is small. Mixed hybrids, motorcycles and buses must not inflate the independently serviceable car market.
Rwanda BEV-car observations
Mixed hybrids are not PHEVs and remain excluded.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Market KPIs
| Metric | Value | Unit | Period | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fully electric cars | 512 | cars | 2024 | RRA data reported by The New Times [newtimes_stock]. |
| Hybrid cars | 6,660 | cars | 2024 | HEV/PHEV split unavailable; excluded from passenger plug-in TAM [newtimes_stock]. |
| All registered vehicles | 330,166 | vehicles | 2023 | NISR all-class parc [nisr_2024]. |
| Registered motorcycles | 177,187 | motorcycles | 2023 | NISR all-class parc; electric share not stated [nisr_2024]. |
| Public car-charging sites | 24 | sites | Aug-2024 | Ministry-data relay; connectors/uptime not audited [charging_count]. |
- Value
- 512
- Unit
- cars
- Period
- 2024
- Evidence
- RRA data reported by The New Times [newtimes_stock].
- Value
- 6,660
- Unit
- cars
- Period
- 2024
- Evidence
- HEV/PHEV split unavailable; excluded from passenger plug-in TAM [newtimes_stock].
- Value
- 330,166
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- 2023
- Evidence
- NISR all-class parc [nisr_2024].
- Value
- 177,187
- Unit
- motorcycles
- Period
- 2023
- Evidence
- NISR all-class parc; electric share not stated [nisr_2024].
- Value
- 24
- Unit
- sites
- Period
- Aug-2024
- Evidence
- Ministry-data relay; connectors/uptime not audited [charging_count].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Definition-controlled Rwanda EV observations
| Period | BEV | PHEV (unavailable) | BEV used in model | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 19 | — | 19 | Fully electric cars; hybrid/PHEV split not available [newtimes_stock]. |
| 2021 hybrids | — | — | — | 28 hybrid cars reported; cannot classify as PHEV [newtimes_stock]. |
| 2024 | 512 | — | 512 | Fully electric cars; 6,660 hybrids excluded [newtimes_stock]. |
| 2025/26 refresh | — | — | — | Current RRA/NISR class/status/district extract not located; hard gate. |
- BEV
- 19
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 19
- Scope
- Fully electric cars; hybrid/PHEV split not available [newtimes_stock].
- BEV
- —
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- —
- Scope
- 28 hybrid cars reported; cannot classify as PHEV [newtimes_stock].
- BEV
- 512
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 512
- Scope
- Fully electric cars; 6,660 hybrids excluded [newtimes_stock].
- BEV
- —
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- —
- Scope
- Current RRA/NISR class/status/district extract not located; hard gate.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Definition reconciliation
Fully electric cars, mixed hybrids, PHEVs, motorcycles, buses, charging sites, swap facilities and pipeline sites are different grains.
Definition reconciliation
| Term | Included | Use |
|---|---|---|
| Fully electric cars | 512 in 2024 | Sourced passenger BEV stock anchor. |
| Hybrid cars | 6,660 in 2024 | Excluded because HEV/PHEV split unavailable. |
| Electric motorcycles | Commercial fleets and swaps | Separate vertically integrated segment; excluded from car SAM. |
| Electric buses | Operator deployments and pipeline | Separate depot/OEM service model; excluded from car SAM. |
| Car charging site | 24 public sites as of Aug-2024 | Not equivalent to live connectors, power, access or uptime. |
| Combined charge/swap facility | 49 facilities as of Aug-2024 | Motorcycle-oriented grain; not passenger EVSE. |
| Pipeline site/reservation | Plans or non-binding demand | Never counted as installed infrastructure or paid service demand. |
- Included
- 512 in 2024
- Use
- Sourced passenger BEV stock anchor.
- Included
- 6,660 in 2024
- Use
- Excluded because HEV/PHEV split unavailable.
- Included
- Commercial fleets and swaps
- Use
- Separate vertically integrated segment; excluded from car SAM.
- Included
- Operator deployments and pipeline
- Use
- Separate depot/OEM service model; excluded from car SAM.
- Included
- 24 public sites as of Aug-2024
- Use
- Not equivalent to live connectors, power, access or uptime.
- Included
- 49 facilities as of Aug-2024
- Use
- Motorcycle-oriented grain; not passenger EVSE.
- Included
- Plans or non-binding demand
- Use
- Never counted as installed infrastructure or paid service demand.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Forecast scenarios
20%, 40% and 65% five-year cases are EVS capacity scenarios from 512 cars, not Rwanda forecasts.
BEV-car capacity scenarios
Five-year EVS cases from 512; not official forecasts.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Five-year BEV-car planning scenarios
| Scenario | Annual Growth Pct | Planning stock end-2030 | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 20 | 1,274 | Five-year EVS capacity case from 512; not an official forecast. |
| Base | 40 | 2,754 | Requires sustained imports, charging, finance and after-sales access. |
| High | 65 | 6,262 | Stress-test only; not probability-weighted. |
- Annual Growth Pct
- 20
- Planning stock end-2030
- 1,274
- Interpretation
- Five-year EVS capacity case from 512; not an official forecast.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 40
- Planning stock end-2030
- 2,754
- Interpretation
- Requires sustained imports, charging, finance and after-sales access.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 65
- Planning stock end-2030
- 6,262
- Interpretation
- Stress-test only; not probability-weighted.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Charging infrastructure
Ministry data reported 24 public car sites, four motorcycle direct-charging sites and 49 combined charge/swap facilities in August 2024. The new June 2026 RURA regulation now governs EVSE and swapping. [charging_count] [rura_evse]
Charging and swap sites by grain
Sites, connectors, swap facilities and pipeline are distinct.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Charging evidence and unknowns
| Metric | Value | Unit | Period | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public car-charging sites | 24 | sites | Aug-2024 | AC/DC sites; not audited live connectors [charging_count]. |
| Motorcycle direct-charging sites | 4 | sites | Aug-2024 | Motorcycle grain; excluded from car EVSE [charging_count]. |
| Combined charge/swap facilities | 49 | facilities | Aug-2024 | Primarily motorcycle ecosystem [charging_count]. |
| Potential master-plan sites | 224 | candidate sites | 2024 planning | Pipeline only; not installed [charging_count]. |
| Audited national live connectors | — | connectors | As accessed 2026-08-11 | Obtain RURA license, connector, power, access and uptime dataset. |
- Value
- 24
- Unit
- sites
- Period
- Aug-2024
- Status
- AC/DC sites; not audited live connectors [charging_count].
- Value
- 4
- Unit
- sites
- Period
- Aug-2024
- Status
- Motorcycle grain; excluded from car EVSE [charging_count].
- Value
- 49
- Unit
- facilities
- Period
- Aug-2024
- Status
- Primarily motorcycle ecosystem [charging_count].
- Value
- 224
- Unit
- candidate sites
- Period
- 2024 planning
- Status
- Pipeline only; not installed [charging_count].
- Value
- —
- Unit
- connectors
- Period
- As accessed 2026-08-11
- Status
- Obtain RURA license, connector, power, access and uptime dataset.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Vehicle parc and service demand
The active, district, age, warranty and VIN distribution of BEVs is the decisive diligence gap.
Vehicle parc and service demand
| Indicator | Value | Unit | Implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| All registered vehicles | 330,166 | vehicles (2023) | Mobility context, not active EV demand [nisr_2024]. |
| Cars | 51,262 | cars (2023) | Legacy passenger-service context [nisr_2024]. |
| Jeeps | 41,534 | jeeps (2023) | Body class must be mapped in EV extract [nisr_2024]. |
| Motorcycles | 177,187 | motorcycles (2023) | Dominant class but separate EV service model [nisr_2024]. |
| BEV age/warranty/status | — | cars by cohort | Required before parts, tool and service mix decisions. |
| Independent-service events | 1.2 | events/vehicle/year | EVS assumption; validate on paid cohort [evs_model]. |
- Value
- 330,166
- Unit
- vehicles (2023)
- Implication
- Mobility context, not active EV demand [nisr_2024].
- Value
- 51,262
- Unit
- cars (2023)
- Implication
- Legacy passenger-service context [nisr_2024].
- Value
- 41,534
- Unit
- jeeps (2023)
- Implication
- Body class must be mapped in EV extract [nisr_2024].
- Value
- 177,187
- Unit
- motorcycles (2023)
- Implication
- Dominant class but separate EV service model [nisr_2024].
- Value
- —
- Unit
- cars by cohort
- Implication
- Required before parts, tool and service mix decisions.
- Value
- 1.2
- Unit
- events/vehicle/year
- Implication
- EVS assumption; validate on paid cohort [evs_model].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Transparent TAM / SAM / SOM
The model starts from sourced BEV stock, then visibly applies EVS assumptions. Hybrids are excluded and executable SOM is zero.
National active TAM and Kigali SAM
Sourced stock plus explicit EVS assumptions; SOM zero.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Sizing assumptions
| Assumption | Value | Unit | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 sourced BEV stock | 512 | cars | RRA data reported by The New Times [newtimes_stock]. |
| Active factor | 90 | percent | EVS assumption; replace with current active/insured register. |
| Kigali concentration | 85 | percent | EVS assumption; replace with district field. |
| Independent reach | 60 | percent | EVS assumption; warranty/OEM/tool access may reduce it. |
| Service events | 1.2 | events/vehicle/year | EVS assumption; diagnostics/inspection/chassis scope. |
| Average repair order | 250,000 | RWF/job | EVS assumption, VAT-exclusive. |
| Executable SOM | 0 | jobs | Decision rule until all hard gates pass. |
- Value
- 512
- Unit
- cars
- Basis
- RRA data reported by The New Times [newtimes_stock].
- Value
- 90
- Unit
- percent
- Basis
- EVS assumption; replace with current active/insured register.
- Value
- 85
- Unit
- percent
- Basis
- EVS assumption; replace with district field.
- Value
- 60
- Unit
- percent
- Basis
- EVS assumption; warranty/OEM/tool access may reduce it.
- Value
- 1.2
- Unit
- events/vehicle/year
- Basis
- EVS assumption; diagnostics/inspection/chassis scope.
- Value
- 250,000
- Unit
- RWF/job
- Basis
- EVS assumption, VAT-exclusive.
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- jobs
- Basis
- Decision rule until all hard gates pass.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
TAM / SAM / SOM
| Layer | Vehicles | Jobs Per Year | Revenue ALL | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| National active TAM | 461 | 553 | 138,250,000 | 512 sourced BEVs × 90% EVS active factor × 1.20 events × RWF250,000. |
| Kigali serviceable pool | 392 | 470 | 117,500,000 | National active TAM × assumed 85% Kigali concentration. |
| Independent-reach SAM | 235 | 282 | 70,500,000 | Kigali pool × 60% reach × 1.20 events × RWF250,000. |
- Vehicles
- 461
- Jobs Per Year
- 553
- Revenue ALL
- 138,250,000
- Status
- 512 sourced BEVs × 90% EVS active factor × 1.20 events × RWF250,000.
- Vehicles
- 392
- Jobs Per Year
- 470
- Revenue ALL
- 117,500,000
- Status
- National active TAM × assumed 85% Kigali concentration.
- Vehicles
- 235
- Jobs Per Year
- 282
- Revenue ALL
- 70,500,000
- Status
- Kigali pool × 60% reach × 1.20 events × RWF250,000.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Customers and fleets
Prioritise private BEV owners, corporate/NGO/diplomatic fleets, rental/tourism operators and dealer overflow on supported VINs.
Customer segments
| Segment | Need | Priority |
|---|---|---|
| Private BEV owners | Neutral diagnostics, charge/12V triage, pre-purchase and chassis work | High after VIN/tool proof |
| Dealer/OEM overflow | Evidence-led non-warranty jobs and referrals | High where lawful access exists |
| Corporate, NGO and diplomatic fleets | Uptime inspections, reporting and pickup/return | High with paid trial |
| Used-BEV importers/buyers | Pre-purchase condition and charge-path evidence | Medium-high |
| Electric motorcycle fleets | Swap/battery uptime | Out of Phase 1; separate platform model |
| Electric bus operators | Depot-scale service | Out of Phase 1; vertically integrated |
- Need
- Neutral diagnostics, charge/12V triage, pre-purchase and chassis work
- Priority
- High after VIN/tool proof
- Need
- Evidence-led non-warranty jobs and referrals
- Priority
- High where lawful access exists
- Need
- Uptime inspections, reporting and pickup/return
- Priority
- High with paid trial
- Need
- Pre-purchase condition and charge-path evidence
- Priority
- Medium-high
- Need
- Swap/battery uptime
- Priority
- Out of Phase 1; separate platform model
- Need
- Depot-scale service
- Priority
- Out of Phase 1; vertically integrated
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Fleet segments
| Segment | Entry Product | Evidence Gate |
|---|---|---|
| Corporate/NGO/diplomatic | Paid 10–20 vehicle health-check trial | VINs, tasks, ARO, downtime and ownership. |
| Rental/mobility fleets | Inspection and charging-triage package | Supported models and custody insurance. |
| Hospitality/tourism | Seasonal inspection and roadside/referral SLA | Paid pilot and route/charger audit. |
| Government BEVs | Tender/partner only | Procurement, OEM and warranty permissions. |
| Motorcycle/bus operators | No Phase 1 car-bay offer | Separate contracts, tools, batteries and facilities. |
- Entry Product
- Paid 10–20 vehicle health-check trial
- Evidence Gate
- VINs, tasks, ARO, downtime and ownership.
- Entry Product
- Inspection and charging-triage package
- Evidence Gate
- Supported models and custody insurance.
- Entry Product
- Seasonal inspection and roadside/referral SLA
- Evidence Gate
- Paid pilot and route/charger audit.
- Entry Product
- Tender/partner only
- Evidence Gate
- Procurement, OEM and warranty permissions.
- Entry Product
- No Phase 1 car-bay offer
- Evidence Gate
- Separate contracts, tools, batteries and facilities.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Brands and models
Availability establishes support candidates, not market share; no authoritative brand/model unit table was located.
Priority brands — no audited market shares located
| Technology | Brand | Units | Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BEV | Volkswagen | — | — | Authorised Rwanda dealer/service; unit table unavailable [vw]. |
| BEV | BYD | — | — | CFAO/Kabisa ecosystem signal; no registrations by brand [cfao] [kabisa]. |
| BEV | Nissan | — | — | Used-import ecosystem; validate model/VIN mix. |
| BEV | Hyundai / Kia | — | — | Commercial availability; no unit series. |
| BEV | Tesla and Chinese imports | — | — | Parallel/multi-brand imports; no unit series. |
- Brand
- Volkswagen
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Authorised Rwanda dealer/service; unit table unavailable [vw].
- Brand
- BYD
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- CFAO/Kabisa ecosystem signal; no registrations by brand [cfao] [kabisa].
- Brand
- Nissan
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Used-import ecosystem; validate model/VIN mix.
- Brand
- Hyundai / Kia
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Commercial availability; no unit series.
- Brand
- Tesla and Chinese imports
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Parallel/multi-brand imports; no unit series.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Priority models
| Brand | Model | Powertrain | Signal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Volkswagen | e-Golf / ID family | BEV | Dealer and mobility ecosystem; exact active count unknown [vw]. |
| BYD | Atto 3 / Dolphin | BEV | Commercial ecosystem; unit stock unknown [cfao]. |
| Nissan | Leaf | BEV | Common used-import candidate; validate VIN/battery variant. |
| Hyundai | Kona Electric | BEV | Commercially relevant crossover; active count unknown. |
| Tesla | Model 3 / Y | BEV | Parallel-import support requires lawful tools/parts. |
| Mixed Chinese imports | Multiple | BEV/PHEV/EREV | Powertrain classification must be decoded VIN-by-VIN. |
- Model
- e-Golf / ID family
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Dealer and mobility ecosystem; exact active count unknown [vw].
- Model
- Atto 3 / Dolphin
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Commercial ecosystem; unit stock unknown [cfao].
- Model
- Leaf
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Common used-import candidate; validate VIN/battery variant.
- Model
- Kona Electric
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Commercially relevant crossover; active count unknown.
- Model
- Model 3 / Y
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Parallel-import support requires lawful tools/parts.
- Model
- Multiple
- Powertrain
- BEV/PHEV/EREV
- Signal
- Powertrain classification must be decoded VIN-by-VIN.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Competitive landscape
Rwanda already has independent EV workshops and integrated sales/charging/service businesses, so partner/referral entry is preferable.
Competitor map
| Competitor | Type | Footprint | Threat | Response |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Safe Auto Garage | Independent EV/hybrid workshop | Gasanze, Kigali | Advertised HV battery repair, diagnostics and training | Benchmark RICA licence, RS 402, capability and customer evidence [safeauto]. |
| Kabisa | Integrated EV sales/charging/service | Kigali / national route | Vehicles, chargers, fleet relationships and parts | Partner/referral before direct competition [kabisa]. |
- Type
- Independent EV/hybrid workshop
- Footprint
- Gasanze, Kigali
- Threat
- Advertised HV battery repair, diagnostics and training
- Response
- Benchmark RICA licence, RS 402, capability and customer evidence [safeauto].
- Type
- Integrated EV sales/charging/service
- Footprint
- Kigali / national route
- Threat
- Vehicles, chargers, fleet relationships and parts
- Response
- Partner/referral before direct competition [kabisa].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Priority geography
Kigali is the only fixed-bay candidate; other corridors begin as collection or clinic routes.
Priority regions
| Rank | Region | Rationale | Mode |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kigali | Highest likely BEV, dealer, charging, corporate and skilled-labour density | One licensed shared partner bay after gates. |
- Region
- Kigali
- Rationale
- Highest likely BEV, dealer, charging, corporate and skilled-labour density
- Mode
- One licensed shared partner bay after gates.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Consumer and business incentives
RRA states EVs, batteries and charging equipment remain VAT-exempt through 30 June 2028, while hybrids face VAT and age-based excise. Every benefit is classification-sensitive. [rra_hybrid]
Consumer incentives
| Instrument | Status | Implication |
|---|---|---|
| EV, battery and charging-equipment VAT exemption | RRA states through 30 June 2028 | Confirm exact HS codes, vehicle definition and transaction scope [rra_hybrid]. |
| Hybrid tax treatment | 18% VAT plus age-based 5–15% excise | Do not present hybrids as equivalent to BEVs or PHEVs [rra_hybrid] [rra_excise]. |
- Status
- RRA states through 30 June 2028
- Implication
- Confirm exact HS codes, vehicle definition and transaction scope [rra_hybrid].
- Status
- 18% VAT plus age-based 5–15% excise
- Implication
- Do not present hybrids as equivalent to BEVs or PHEVs [rra_hybrid] [rra_excise].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Business incentives
| Instrument | Status | Action |
|---|---|---|
| RDB One Stop Centre | Application-specific facilitation | Use for investment registration, EIA, exemptions, land, permits and utilities [rdb_osc]. |
| Investment incentives | Eligibility-specific | No preferential CIT, holiday, land or duty benefit booked without certificate [rdb_invest]. |
- Status
- Application-specific facilitation
- Action
- Use for investment registration, EIA, exemptions, land, permits and utilities [rdb_osc].
- Status
- Eligibility-specific
- Action
- No preferential CIT, holiday, land or duty benefit booked without certificate [rdb_invest].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Tax and investment
Pilot economics are VAT-, tax-, finance- and incentive-exclusive. Obtain written RRA and RDB determinations before committing.
Tax and customs baseline
| Tax | Rate | Treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Standard corporate income tax | 28% policy reform statement | Confirm enacted/current rate and taxable base; pilot is pre-tax [minecofin_tax]. |
| Standard VAT | 18% | Workshop labour/parts treatment requires RRA advice; EV goods exemption is not assumed for service invoices [rra_hybrid]. |
- Rate
- 28% policy reform statement
- Treatment
- Confirm enacted/current rate and taxable base; pilot is pre-tax [minecofin_tax].
- Rate
- 18%
- Treatment
- Workshop labour/parts treatment requires RRA advice; EV goods exemption is not assumed for service invoices [rra_hybrid].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Licensing and labour
RICA garage licensing and RS 402 evidence are explicit launch gates, alongside entity, premises, electrical, fire, environment, labour, data and insurance.
Licensing path
| Gate | Authority | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Company and TIN | RDB / RRA | Registered entity, beneficial ownership and valid company TIN [rdb_invest] [rica_garage]. |
| Garage operating licence | RICA | Field inspection and active garage licence [rica_garage]. |
- Authority
- RDB / RRA
- Evidence
- Registered entity, beneficial ownership and valid company TIN [rdb_invest] [rica_garage].
- Authority
- RICA
- Evidence
- Field inspection and active garage licence [rica_garage].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Labour and safety obligations
| Requirement | Owner | Control |
|---|---|---|
| Employment and payroll | Employer / MIFOTRA / RRA / RSSB | Contracts, PAYE and social-security registration before hiring [mifotra] [rssb]. |
| RS 402 staff qualification | RICA / RSB / garage operator | Provide prescribed qualifications in garage-licence file [irembo_garage]. |
- Owner
- Employer / MIFOTRA / RRA / RSSB
- Control
- Contracts, PAYE and social-security registration before hiring [mifotra] [rssb].
- Owner
- RICA / RSB / garage operator
- Control
- Provide prescribed qualifications in garage-licence file [irembo_garage].
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
High-voltage safety
High-voltage authority is technician-, task- and vehicle-specific and auditable.
High-voltage controls
| Control | Required Evidence |
|---|---|
| Scope whitelist | Top-20 VIN/task matrix; prohibited functions explicit. |
| Technician authorisation | Task-, vehicle- and voltage-specific assessment; two-person rule where required. |
| Safe isolation | Identify, shut down, disconnect, secure, prove dead, discharge and re-test using vehicle information [iso_6469]. |
| PPE/test equipment | Rated, inspected and calibrated gloves, meter, leads, rescue hook, barriers and torque tools. |
| Workshop controls | Controlled zone, key custody, lift points, damaged-vehicle quarantine, fire/rescue drill. |
| Charging work | RURA-approved installation and applicable RSB/IEC requirements [rura_evse] [iec_61851]. |
| Release evidence | Pre/post scan, restoration, torque/QC, charge check, road test and limitations. |
- Required Evidence
- Top-20 VIN/task matrix; prohibited functions explicit.
- Required Evidence
- Task-, vehicle- and voltage-specific assessment; two-person rule where required.
- Required Evidence
- Identify, shut down, disconnect, secure, prove dead, discharge and re-test using vehicle information [iso_6469].
- Required Evidence
- Rated, inspected and calibrated gloves, meter, leads, rescue hook, barriers and torque tools.
- Required Evidence
- Controlled zone, key custody, lift points, damaged-vehicle quarantine, fire/rescue drill.
- Required Evidence
- RURA-approved installation and applicable RSB/IEC requirements [rura_evse] [iec_61851].
- Required Evidence
- Pre/post scan, restoration, torque/QC, charge check, road test and limitations.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Battery and waste
Phase 1 excludes traction-pack opening, removal, storage, transport and repurposing.
Battery and waste routes
| Stage | Rule | Route |
|---|---|---|
| Intact in-vehicle pack | Non-invasive diagnostics only | No opening, removal or storage. |
| Suspect/damaged pack arrival | Refuse routine indoor custody | Isolate arrival and activate OEM/insurer/fire plan. |
- Rule
- Non-invasive diagnostics only
- Route
- No opening, removal or storage.
- Rule
- Refuse routine indoor custody
- Route
- Isolate arrival and activate OEM/insurer/fire plan.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Recommended service portfolio
Lead with evidence products, scans, charging/12V triage and EV chassis services on a supported whitelist.
Recommended service portfolio
| Phase | Service | Include | Exclude |
|---|---|---|---|
| Launch | VIN-classified diagnostic scan | DTC/live data/12V/charge evidence | Secure coding, warranty or unsupported functions. |
| Launch | Pre-purchase BEV condition report | Visual, scan, charge-path, chassis and thermal observations | Guaranteed capacity/life or certification. |
| Launch | Charging and low-voltage triage | Cable/inlet/EVSE/12V evidence | Building/grid work without licensed/approved contractor. |
| Launch | Tyres, brakes, suspension and alignment | EV load, torque and QC evidence | Unsupported ADAS calibration. |
| Fleet | Uptime inspection/reporting | Corporate, rental, tourism and light-commercial BEVs | Motorcycle/bus/depot scope. |
| Hold | Traction pack/module/repurposing | None | Opening, removal, storage, transport, custody or repurposing. |
- Service
- VIN-classified diagnostic scan
- Include
- DTC/live data/12V/charge evidence
- Exclude
- Secure coding, warranty or unsupported functions.
- Service
- Pre-purchase BEV condition report
- Include
- Visual, scan, charge-path, chassis and thermal observations
- Exclude
- Guaranteed capacity/life or certification.
- Service
- Charging and low-voltage triage
- Include
- Cable/inlet/EVSE/12V evidence
- Exclude
- Building/grid work without licensed/approved contractor.
- Service
- Tyres, brakes, suspension and alignment
- Include
- EV load, torque and QC evidence
- Exclude
- Unsupported ADAS calibration.
- Service
- Uptime inspection/reporting
- Include
- Corporate, rental, tourism and light-commercial BEVs
- Exclude
- Motorcycle/bus/depot scope.
- Service
- Traction pack/module/repurposing
- Include
- None
- Exclude
- Opening, removal, storage, transport, custody or repurposing.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Franchise and operating model
Use one RICA-licensed shared partner bay with no territory exclusivity or franchise sale before sustained paid evidence.
Operating model
| Element | Recommendation |
|---|---|
| Format | One RICA-licensed shared bay in Kigali. |
| Ownership | Rwanda entity with RRA/RDB and local approvals. |
| Franchise | No exclusive territory or franchise sale before 12 months paid evidence. |
| Staffing | One assessed HV lead plus one technician; no lone HV work. |
| Technology | Supported top-20 VIN/task matrix and lawful subscriptions. |
| Commercial | Menu-priced evidence products, deposits and paid fleet trials. |
| Expansion | Collection/clinic routes before any second fixed bay. |
- Recommendation
- One RICA-licensed shared bay in Kigali.
- Recommendation
- Rwanda entity with RRA/RDB and local approvals.
- Recommendation
- No exclusive territory or franchise sale before 12 months paid evidence.
- Recommendation
- One assessed HV lead plus one technician; no lone HV work.
- Recommendation
- Supported top-20 VIN/task matrix and lawful subscriptions.
- Recommendation
- Menu-priced evidence products, deposits and paid fleet trials.
- Recommendation
- Collection/clinic routes before any second fixed bay.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Pilot economics
All economics are EVS assumptions. The partner-bay format and RWF20m capex ceiling control downside.
Kigali partner-pilot EBITDA
RWF; EVS assumptions.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Annual Kigali partner-pilot economics — RWF
| Scenario | Jobs | ARO ALL | Revenue ALL | Gross Margin Pct | Gross Profit ALL | Opex ALL | Ebitda ALL | Payback Years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 60 | 200,000 | 12,000,000 | 55 | 6,600,000 | 18,000,000 | -11,400,000 | — |
- Jobs
- 60
- ARO ALL
- 200,000
- Revenue ALL
- 12,000,000
- Gross Margin Pct
- 55
- Gross Profit ALL
- 6,600,000
- Opex ALL
- 18,000,000
- Ebitda ALL
- -11,400,000
- Payback Years
- —
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
90-day economics — RWF
| Scenario | Jobs 90d | Revenue ALL | Gross Profit ALL | Opex ALL | Ebitda ALL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 15 | 3,000,000 | 1,650,000 | 4,500,000 | -2,850,000 |
- Jobs 90d
- 15
- Revenue ALL
- 3,000,000
- Gross Profit ALL
- 1,650,000
- Opex ALL
- 4,500,000
- Ebitda ALL
- -2,850,000
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Risks and mitigations
The dominant risks are stale stock, hybrid misclassification, established competitors and mistaking motorcycle/bus momentum for car demand.
Risks and mitigations
| Risk | Likelihood | Impact | Mitigation |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 stock is stale by launch | High | High | Current RRA/NISR class/status/district/VIN extract before spend. |
| Hybrids misclassified as PHEVs | High | Critical | VIN/powertrain decode; exclude 6,660 mixed hybrids from plug-in TAM. |
| Motorcycle/bus momentum misread as car demand | High | High | Separate classes, operators, infrastructure and economics. |
| Established local competition | High | High | Partner/referral-first offer and paid evidence products. |
| OEM software/parts access | High | High | Top-20 whitelist, lawful tools and referrals. |
| Charging site count overstates uptime | Medium | High | Audit approval, connectors, power, access and uptime. |
| Battery fire/electric shock | Low | Critical | No pack work; isolation SOP, PPE, controlled zone and drills. |
| Waste/transport route failure | Medium | Critical | No traction-battery custody until written route. |
| Tax/incentive change | Medium | High | Written RRA rulings and zero benefits in economics. |
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Current RRA/NISR class/status/district/VIN extract before spend.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- Critical
- Mitigation
- VIN/powertrain decode; exclude 6,660 mixed hybrids from plug-in TAM.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Separate classes, operators, infrastructure and economics.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Partner/referral-first offer and paid evidence products.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Top-20 whitelist, lawful tools and referrals.
- Likelihood
- Medium
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Audit approval, connectors, power, access and uptime.
- Likelihood
- Low
- Impact
- Critical
- Mitigation
- No pack work; isolation SOP, PPE, controlled zone and drills.
- Likelihood
- Medium
- Impact
- Critical
- Mitigation
- No traction-battery custody until written route.
- Likelihood
- Medium
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Written RRA rulings and zero benefits in economics.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
90-day entry plan
Current registry and legal evidence precede partner selection, deposits, tooling and paid work.
90-day entry plan
| Days | Objective | Actions | Owner | Deliverable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0–15 | Registry and legal gate | Commission RRA/NISR extract; map RDB/RRA, RICA/RS 402, local, fire, RURA/REG, REMA/waste, labour, data and insurance. | EVS board/counsel | Signed feasibility file. |
- Objective
- Registry and legal gate
- Actions
- Commission RRA/NISR extract; map RDB/RRA, RICA/RS 402, local, fire, RURA/REG, REMA/waste, labour, data and insurance.
- Owner
- EVS board/counsel
- Deliverable
- Signed feasibility file.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Explicit go / no-go gates
Any failure on density, demand, RICA/RS 402 compliance, capability, safety or economics stops launch.
Go / no-go gates
| Gate | Go | No-Go |
|---|---|---|
| Market denominator | Current extract proves at least 350 active passenger/light-commercial BEVs/PHEVs in Kigali with powertrain and status separated | Hybrid/PHEV or active/district status cannot be separated, or count below 350. |
- Go
- Current extract proves at least 350 active passenger/light-commercial BEVs/PHEVs in Kigali with powertrain and status separated
- No-Go
- Hybrid/PHEV or active/district status cannot be separated, or count below 350.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Methodology
Sourced facts, relay evidence, commercial claims and EVS assumptions remain visibly separate.
Methodology
| Step | Method |
|---|---|
| 1. Evidence hierarchy | Rwanda primary sources first; commercial and relay evidence labelled. |
| 2. Definition control | Separate BEV cars, mixed hybrids, PHEVs, motorcycles, buses, charging sites, swap facilities and pipeline. |
| 3. TAM | 512 sourced BEVs × 90% EVS active factor × 1.20 events × RWF250,000; hybrids excluded. |
| 4. Kigali pool | Assume 85% of active national BEVs are in Kigali; replace with district extract. |
| 5. SAM | Kigali pool × 60% independent reach × 1.20 events × RWF250,000. |
| 6. SOM | Zero before registry, paid demand, compliance, capability and economics gates. |
| 7. Forecasts | Five-year capacity cases from 512; not official forecasts. |
| 8. Validation | JSON/schema, formulas, citations, definitions, links, branding and template residue. |
- Method
- Rwanda primary sources first; commercial and relay evidence labelled.
- Method
- Separate BEV cars, mixed hybrids, PHEVs, motorcycles, buses, charging sites, swap facilities and pipeline.
- Method
- 512 sourced BEVs × 90% EVS active factor × 1.20 events × RWF250,000; hybrids excluded.
- Method
- Assume 85% of active national BEVs are in Kigali; replace with district extract.
- Method
- Kigali pool × 60% independent reach × 1.20 events × RWF250,000.
- Method
- Zero before registry, paid demand, compliance, capability and economics gates.
- Method
- Five-year capacity cases from 512; not official forecasts.
- Method
- JSON/schema, formulas, citations, definitions, links, branding and template residue.
Source: EVS Rwanda passenger/light-commercial serviceable-pool and pilot model
Complete linked source register
46 linked sources record publisher, publication/access dates, scope and caveats.
EVS Board Position
CONDITIONAL GO for one reversible Kigali partner bay; NO-GO standalone/franchise; HOLD traction-pack and repurposing work.
Source register
46 primary and derived sources
ShowHide
Source register
46 primary and derived sources
Get the full Rwanda report
The complete assessment — competitive matrix, location shortlist, incentive and regulatory detail, pilot-centre economics and the 90-day entry plan. Sent straight to your inbox.