Ukraine
EVS Ukraine Electric-Vehicle Service-Centre Market-Entry
Decision-grade Ukraine market-entry report for an EVS electric-vehicle service centre, with wartime gates and sourced facts, derived estimates and EVS assumptions separated.
Derived passenger-service planning proxy; exact official passenger stock unavailable.
H1 2026 BEV additions after VAT-exemption expiry.
EVS model using inferred passenger-service proxy.
Permanent site remains on hold under wartime and insurance gates.
The verdict in full
Do not approve a greenfield centre or passive franchise while martial law, active attacks and bindable war-risk cover remain unresolved [rada_martial][worldbank_rdna5]. Authorise only diligence and a 90-day, two-bay Lviv partner pilot after security, insurer, labour/fire/waste and HV gates are green. Ukraine nevertheless has a large service base: 182,005 electric-only vehicles were officially recorded in August 2025 and a secondary series reached 251,491 all-class EVs by April 2026 [hsc_stock][autogeek_apr].
Approve only an UAH-capped diligence and 90-day Lviv partner pilot after all red preconditions are green. Do not approve a greenfield lease, passive franchise, territory exclusivity, battery-opening marketing or Kyiv/Dnipro/Odesa capex while the security/insurance case is unresolved.
Investment position
Why preserve the option: the inferred passenger-service base is about 245,154, the used-import mix is dominant and Lviv has high stock and flow [unn_2025][oneup][komersant_q1]. Why no fixed capital: RDNA5 records severe energy/transport damage and martial law is current [worldbank_rdna5][rada_martial]. Portable tools, partner bays and automatic stop-work triggers are mandatory.
Market size and adoption
The hard primary anchor is 182,005 electric-only vehicles as of 15 August 2025 [hsc_stock]. A secondary register analysis reports 251,491 EVs at 1 April 2026 [autogeek_apr]. EVS applies the 97.4802% passenger share of 2025 additions to that all-class figure, producing a 245,154 passenger-service planning proxy. This is derived—not an official passenger-BEV stock.
Market KPI definitions
| Metric | Value | As Of | Definition | Source Id |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Official electric-only vehicle stock anchor | 182,005 | 2025-08-15 | All vehicles powered only by an electric motor; primary register statement | hsc_stock |
| All-class EV stock, secondary | 251,491 | 2026-04-01 | Secondary registration analysis; class/active-status details incomplete | autogeek_apr |
| Passenger-service planning proxy | 245,154 | 2026-04-01 | 251,491 × 97.4802%, using passenger share of 2025 BEV additions; derived, not an exact passenger-BEV stock | evs_model |
| 2025 BEV additions | 110,200 | 2025-12-31 | Headline all-class additions; component figures sum to 110,248 due source rounding | unn_2025 |
| H1 2026 BEV additions | 15,221 | 2026-06-30 | 14,404 passenger plus 817 commercial | open4_h1 |
| Charging stations, ministry-derived | 11,000 | 2025-12-31 | Station/connector/public-access definition not stated; context only | min_charge |
| Internal-market passenger-car age | 16.1 | 2025-08-31 | Average age of cars transacted internally, not live fleet or EVs | ida_age |
- Value
- 182,005
- As Of
- 2025-08-15
- Definition
- All vehicles powered only by an electric motor; primary register statement
- Source Id
- hsc_stock
- Value
- 251,491
- As Of
- 2026-04-01
- Definition
- Secondary registration analysis; class/active-status details incomplete
- Source Id
- autogeek_apr
- Value
- 245,154
- As Of
- 2026-04-01
- Definition
- 251,491 × 97.4802%, using passenger share of 2025 BEV additions; derived, not an exact passenger-BEV stock
- Source Id
- evs_model
- Value
- 110,200
- As Of
- 2025-12-31
- Definition
- Headline all-class additions; component figures sum to 110,248 due source rounding
- Source Id
- unn_2025
- Value
- 15,221
- As Of
- 2026-06-30
- Definition
- 14,404 passenger plus 817 commercial
- Source Id
- open4_h1
- Value
- 11,000
- As Of
- 2025-12-31
- Definition
- Station/connector/public-access definition not stated; context only
- Source Id
- min_charge
- Value
- 16.1
- As Of
- 2025-08-31
- Definition
- Average age of cars transacted internally, not live fleet or EVs
- Source Id
- ida_age
BEV/PHEV adoption history
Ukravtoprom-derived additions rose from 37,600 in 2023 to 51,700 in 2024 and a rounded 110,200 in 2025 [ukrnews_2024][unn_2025]. The 2025 components sum to 110,248, 48 above the rounded headline. H1 2026 fell to 15,221 after the VAT-exemption expiry and the 2025 pull-forward [open4_h1][tax_ev_vat]. No defensible PHEV-only stock/flow series was located.
BEV additions history
Ukravtoprom-derived all-class additions; 2026 is H1 only.
New M1 registration history
| Year | Powertrain | Registrations | Source Id | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2,023 | BEV | 37,600 | ukrnews_2024 | Ukravtoprom-derived all-class additions |
| 2,024 | BEV | 51,700 | ukrnews_2024 | Ukravtoprom-derived headline; passenger 50,458 |
| 2,025 | BEV | 110,200 | unn_2025 | Ukravtoprom-derived headline; component total 110,248 |
| 2,026 | BEV | 15,221 | open4_h1 | H1 only; not comparable with full years |
| 2,025 | PHEV | — | hsc_stock | No defensible plug-in-only hybrid flow or stock located; excluded from model |
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Registrations
- 37,600
- Source Id
- ukrnews_2024
- Status
- Ukravtoprom-derived all-class additions
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Registrations
- 51,700
- Source Id
- ukrnews_2024
- Status
- Ukravtoprom-derived headline; passenger 50,458
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Registrations
- 110,200
- Source Id
- unn_2025
- Status
- Ukravtoprom-derived headline; component total 110,248
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Registrations
- 15,221
- Source Id
- open4_h1
- Status
- H1 only; not comparable with full years
- Powertrain
- PHEV
- Registrations
- —
- Source Id
- hsc_stock
- Status
- No defensible plug-in-only hybrid flow or stock located; excluded from model
Stock definition and uncertainty
HSC’s 182,005 figure is electric-only but all vehicle classes; its separate 121,392 “hybrids” includes non-plug-in vehicles, so it is excluded [hsc_stock]. Autogeek’s 251,491 is newer but secondary and does not fully document active/class filters [autogeek_apr]. The model does not blend PHEVs, registrations, sales and live stock.
Forecast scenarios
EVS compounds the 245,154 passenger-service proxy for five years at 5%, 12% and 20%, producing 312,886, 432,045 and 610,022 in 2031. These are scenarios, not forecasts. The low case reflects VAT normalisation, war and H1 2026 contraction; every case must be rebased to official class/status data [open4_h1][evs_model].
Passenger-service proxy scenarios
Derived 2026 base; EVS annual-growth assumptions to 2031.
2030 stock scenarios
| Year | Scenario | Growth | Stock | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2,026 | Cautious | 0.05 | 245,154 | Derived passenger-service proxy |
| 2,031 | Cautious | 0.05 | 312,886 | EVS assumption |
| 2,026 | Base | 0.12 | 245,154 | Derived passenger-service proxy |
| 2,031 | Base | 0.12 | 432,045 | EVS assumption |
| 2,026 | High | 0.2 | 245,154 | Derived passenger-service proxy |
| 2,031 | High | 0.2 | 610,022 | EVS assumption |
- Scenario
- Cautious
- Growth
- 0.05
- Stock
- 245,154
- Status
- Derived passenger-service proxy
- Scenario
- Cautious
- Growth
- 0.05
- Stock
- 312,886
- Status
- EVS assumption
- Scenario
- Base
- Growth
- 0.12
- Stock
- 245,154
- Status
- Derived passenger-service proxy
- Scenario
- Base
- Growth
- 0.12
- Stock
- 432,045
- Status
- EVS assumption
- Scenario
- High
- Growth
- 0.2
- Stock
- 245,154
- Status
- Derived passenger-service proxy
- Scenario
- High
- Growth
- 0.2
- Stock
- 610,022
- Status
- EVS assumption
Charging infrastructure
A ministry-derived statement counted about 11,000 charging stations by end-2025, versus about 3,000 several years earlier, but did not define site/device/connector or operating status [min_charge]. Another ministry statement counted more than 470 stations along national highways as of July 2025 [interfax_highway]. These are contextual, not additive.
Charging infrastructure
| Item | Value | Status | Source Id |
|---|---|---|---|
| National charging stations | about 11,000 | Ministry-derived end-2025 statement; definition/operability not audited | min_charge |
| Stations along national highways | more than 470 | Ministry-derived July 2025 count | interfax_highway |
| OKKO ultra-fast portfolio | 100 chargers / 63 locations | Operator claim, July 2026 | okko_charge |
| Energy-system exposure | damaged/destroyed assets +21% vs RDNA4 | National resilience context, not charging count | worldbank_rdna5 |
- Value
- about 11,000
- Status
- Ministry-derived end-2025 statement; definition/operability not audited
- Source Id
- min_charge
- Value
- more than 470
- Status
- Ministry-derived July 2025 count
- Source Id
- interfax_highway
- Value
- 100 chargers / 63 locations
- Status
- Operator claim, July 2026
- Source Id
- okko_charge
- Value
- damaged/destroyed assets +21% vs RDNA4
- Status
- National resilience context, not charging count
- Source Id
- worldbank_rdna5
Charging pipeline and resilience
OKKO reports 100 ultra-fast chargers at 63 locations and more than USD6m invested, with an EBRD-backed expansion [okko_charge]. RDNA5 says damaged/destroyed energy assets rose about 21% from RDNA4 [worldbank_rdna5]. EVS therefore requires backup power, surge protection and no service-demand uplift from connector counts.
Vehicle parc age
Cars transacted on Ukraine’s internal market averaged 16.1 years in August 2025; Kyiv was 11.2 and Lviv 14.7 [ida_age]. This is transaction-flow age—not live fleet or EV age. It supports chassis/brake/thermal inspection context, but it is not used to infer battery failures.
Service-demand translation
Used Tesla, Leaf, Niro and Kona imports dominate 2025 model counts [unn_2025]. Demand should concentrate on collision history, battery evidence, charging, thermal, electronics and aged chassis. EVS assumes 0.65 paid events and UAH18,000 spend annually; neither is sourced market data [evs_model].
TAM / SAM / SOM
TAM is UAH2.868bn: 245,154 passenger-service proxy × 0.65 events × UAH18,000. Applying 65% independent eligibility gives UAH1.864bn; 45% Lviv/west reach gives UAH838.978m SAM; 3% year-one share gives UAH25.169m SOM. Stock is derived and all conversion parameters are EVS assumptions [autogeek_apr][unn_2025][evs_model].
Passenger-BEV serviceable-pool funnel
Annual UAH value; stock inferred, conversion parameters assumed.
Serviceable-pool sizing
| Stage | Value | Formula | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Passenger-BEV service TAM | 2,868,301,800 | 245,154 × 0.65 × UAH18,000 | Derived proxy; EVS frequency/spend |
| Independent-eligible pool | 1,864,396,170 | TAM × 65% | EVS model |
| Lviv/west partner-hub SAM | 838,978,277 | Eligible pool × 45% | EVS model |
- Value
- 2,868,301,800
- Formula
- 245,154 × 0.65 × UAH18,000
- Status
- Derived proxy; EVS frequency/spend
- Value
- 1,864,396,170
- Formula
- TAM × 65%
- Status
- EVS model
- Value
- 838,978,277
- Formula
- Eligible pool × 45%
- Status
- EVS model
Sizing sensitivity
At 0.45–0.80 events and UAH12,000–UAH25,000 spend, TAM spans about UAH1.324bn–UAH4.903bn before stock uncertainty. The crucial variables are active passenger-BEV stock, territory/security availability, paid-event frequency, ARO and OEM/warranty exclusion.
Customer and fleet segments
Prioritise used-import buyers/dealers, out-of-warranty Tesla/Leaf owners, China-EV grey imports, fleets/delivery/rental and body-shop/insurer depower referrals. OEM-warranty work is referred unless lawful access and authorisation are proven.
Customer segments
| Segment | Need | Offer | Priority |
|---|---|---|---|
| Used-import buyers and dealers | Battery, collision and software-risk evidence | Pre-purchase report plus SOH/access disclosures | P1 |
| Out-of-warranty Tesla/Leaf owners | Independent diagnosis and parts options | Diagnostics, chassis, thermal and battery triage | P1 |
| BYD/Zeekr/VW ID grey imports | Localisation, charging and parts/firmware navigation | Inspection plus lawful specialist referrals | P1 controlled |
| Fleets, delivery, rental and ride-hail | Uptime under disruption | SLA, pickup/return and recurring inspection | P1 |
| Body shops and insurers | Safe depower, damage triage and custody | B2B technical partner | P2 |
| OEM-warranty vehicles | Authorised work | Refer/subcontract; never imply authorisation | Controlled |
- Need
- Battery, collision and software-risk evidence
- Offer
- Pre-purchase report plus SOH/access disclosures
- Priority
- P1
- Need
- Independent diagnosis and parts options
- Offer
- Diagnostics, chassis, thermal and battery triage
- Priority
- P1
- Need
- Localisation, charging and parts/firmware navigation
- Offer
- Inspection plus lawful specialist referrals
- Priority
- P1 controlled
- Need
- Uptime under disruption
- Offer
- SLA, pickup/return and recurring inspection
- Priority
- P1
- Need
- Safe depower, damage triage and custody
- Offer
- B2B technical partner
- Priority
- P2
- Need
- Authorised work
- Offer
- Refer/subcontract; never imply authorisation
- Priority
- Controlled
Leading EV brands and models
2025 used-import leaders were Tesla Model Y (10,683), Model 3 (9,348), Nissan Leaf (7,559), Kia Niro (5,154) and Hyundai Kona (4,145) [unn_2025]. New leaders included Volkswagen ID.Unyx (3,162) and BYD Song Plus EV (2,948). Platform readiness should follow these cohorts, not global brand rankings.
Priority models
| Model | Registrations | Readiness |
|---|---|---|
| Tesla Model Y — used imports 2025 | 10,683 | Priority scan, chassis/body, thermal and salvage-history inspection |
| Tesla Model 3 — used imports 2025 | 9,348 | Priority scan, battery/charging, suspension and body |
| Nissan Leaf — used imports 2025 | 7,559 | Ageing battery-health, charger and thermal niche |
| Kia Niro — used imports 2025 | 5,154 | Battery, thermal and chassis readiness |
| Hyundai Kona — used imports 2025 | 4,145 | Battery campaign/history and thermal/chassis checks |
| Volkswagen ID.Unyx — new 2025 | 3,162 | Grey-import software, charging and platform-access diligence |
| BYD Song Plus EV — new 2025 | 2,948 | New official-channel transition; diagnostics/parts readiness |
| Zeekr/BYD newer models | — | Rapidly growing China-import cohort; platform whitelist required |
- Registrations
- 10,683
- Readiness
- Priority scan, chassis/body, thermal and salvage-history inspection
- Registrations
- 9,348
- Readiness
- Priority scan, battery/charging, suspension and body
- Registrations
- 7,559
- Readiness
- Ageing battery-health, charger and thermal niche
- Registrations
- 5,154
- Readiness
- Battery, thermal and chassis readiness
- Registrations
- 4,145
- Readiness
- Battery campaign/history and thermal/chassis checks
- Registrations
- 3,162
- Readiness
- Grey-import software, charging and platform-access diligence
- Registrations
- 2,948
- Readiness
- New official-channel transition; diagnostics/parts readiness
- Registrations
- —
- Readiness
- Rapidly growing China-import cohort; platform whitelist required
Competitive landscape
Kyiv has Tesla specialists TrueTesla, TSK and NikolaCars; Lviv has Bosch Service 112; Dnipro has D-Volt [truetesla][tsk][nikola][bosch_lviv][dvolt]. Nissan retains an authorised network and a BYD official network is forming [nissan][byd_entry]. EVS must compete on evidence, multi-brand scope, fleet SLA and audited safety—not unsupported superiority.
Competitor map
| Category | Example | Implication | Source Id |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla battery specialist | TrueTesla, Kyiv | Advertises pack, BMS and charging repairs; direct technical benchmark | truetesla |
| Tesla full-service independent | TSK and NikolaCars, Kyiv | Broad repair, parts, collision and import support; dense capital competition | tsk |
- Example
- TrueTesla, Kyiv
- Implication
- Advertises pack, BMS and charging repairs; direct technical benchmark
- Source Id
- truetesla
- Example
- TSK and NikolaCars, Kyiv
- Implication
- Broad repair, parts, collision and import support; dense capital competition
- Source Id
- tsk
Priority cities and regions
Lviv is the pilot preference: 32,703 registered EVs on the 1UP dashboard and 667 Q1 2026 passenger additions, the highest cited regional flow [oneup][komersant_q1]. Kyiv city/oblast is larger at 35,642 plus 19,784 but higher fixed-capital exposure. Dnipro and Odesa remain later referral markets.
Priority cities
| City | Population | Role | Source Id |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lviv oblast | — | Pilot preference: 32,703 registered EVs and Q1 2026 flow leader; partner bays only | oneup |
- Population
- —
- Role
- Pilot preference: 32,703 registered EVs and Q1 2026 flow leader; partner bays only
- Source Id
- oneup
Consumer incentives
The temporary BEV VAT exemption ended on 1 January 2026 [tax_ev_vat]. HSC says the first-registration pension-fee exemption remains [hsc_pension]. No current nationwide purchase grant, import-duty or excise treatment was verified sufficiently to include in economics; obtain a vehicle-specific customs opinion.
Consumer incentives
| Measure | Status | Model Treatment | Source Id |
|---|---|---|---|
| VAT on BEV import/supply | Temporary exemption cancelled from 1 January 2026 | Standard 20% VAT context; no demand subsidy | tax_ev_vat |
| First-registration pension fee | Pure EV exemption remains according to HSC | Customer TCO context only | hsc_pension |
- Status
- Temporary exemption cancelled from 1 January 2026
- Model Treatment
- Standard 20% VAT context; no demand subsidy
- Source Id
- tax_ev_vat
- Status
- Pure EV exemption remains according to HSC
- Model Treatment
- Customer TCO context only
- Source Id
- hsc_pension
Business, tax and investment incentives
UkraineInvest lists standard 18% corporate income tax and 20% VAT [ukraineinvest_tax][ukraineinvest_vat]. EBRD/EU programmes may offer eligible SME finance, grants or insurance support, but EVS includes no award [ebrd_sme][ebrd_insurance]. War-risk cover must be a written precondition, not an assumed incentive.
Business incentive treatment
| Measure | Status | Model Treatment | Source Id |
|---|---|---|---|
| VAT on BEV import/supply | Temporary exemption cancelled from 1 January 2026 | Standard 20% VAT context; no demand subsidy | tax_ev_vat |
| First-registration pension fee | Pure EV exemption remains according to HSC | Customer TCO context only | hsc_pension |
- Status
- Temporary exemption cancelled from 1 January 2026
- Model Treatment
- Standard 20% VAT context; no demand subsidy
- Source Id
- tax_ev_vat
- Status
- Pure EV exemption remains according to HSC
- Model Treatment
- Customer TCO context only
- Source Id
- hsc_pension
Labour, licensing and workshop regulation
Register the operating structure and employee notifications through the applicable process; Diia combines relevant business services [diia_ep]. Before opening, secure a Ukraine legal memo on premises, labour protection, fire, shelter/curfew, tax, customer, data and repair scope. This report is commercial diligence, not Ukrainian legal advice.
Regulatory checklist
| Topic | Requirement | Source Id |
|---|---|---|
| Company and tax | Register appropriate Ukrainian entity/branch; model 18% CIT and 20% VAT; obtain current payroll/military-levy advice | ukraineinvest_tax |
| Premises and martial-law operations | Confirm land use, occupancy, fire access, shelter/air-raid procedure, curfew and power-continuity plan before use | rada_martial |
- Requirement
- Register appropriate Ukrainian entity/branch; model 18% CIT and 20% VAT; obtain current payroll/military-levy advice
- Source Id
- ukraineinvest_tax
- Requirement
- Confirm land use, occupancy, fire access, shelter/air-raid procedure, curfew and power-continuity plan before use
- Source Id
- rada_martial
High voltage, battery and waste
State Labour guidance covers work in electrical installations up to/above 1,000V and permit-to-work; Resolution 1107 applies to specified high-risk work/equipment [dsp_electrical][dsp_permit]. Most EV traction systems are below 1,000V, so counsel must map rather than assume permit scope. Contract authorised battery transport/treatment and confirm storage/processing permit triggers [mepr_waste][rada_waste].
Recommended service portfolio
Launch inspections/SOH evidence, multi-brand diagnostics, charging/thermal faults, brakes, steering, suspension, tyres and fleet pickup. Use partners for lawful localisation. Defer pack opening until competence, insurer, fire, quarantine, waste, parts and paid-demand gates are green.
Service portfolio
| Service | Phase | Control |
|---|---|---|
| Used-EV pre-purchase inspection and battery-health evidence | Day 1 | Method, temperature, access and warranty limits disclosed |
| HV diagnostics, isolation and charging-fault triage | Day 1 gated | Named authorised technician, LOTO, rescue and OEM procedure |
| Thermal/HVAC, brakes, steering, suspension and tyres | Day 1 | Torque traceability, parts provenance and post-repair test |
| Grey-import localisation and software referrals | Partner | Lawful access only; no unsupported OEM-authorisation claims |
| Module-level battery repair | Deferred | Open only after competence, insurer, fire, quarantine and waste gates |
| Fleet uptime, pickup/return and mobile diagnostics | Pilot | Security-aware radius, SLA, curfew and safe-transport policy |
- Phase
- Day 1
- Control
- Method, temperature, access and warranty limits disclosed
- Phase
- Day 1 gated
- Control
- Named authorised technician, LOTO, rescue and OEM procedure
- Phase
- Day 1
- Control
- Torque traceability, parts provenance and post-repair test
- Phase
- Partner
- Control
- Lawful access only; no unsupported OEM-authorisation claims
- Phase
- Deferred
- Control
- Open only after competence, insurer, fire, quarantine and waste gates
- Phase
- Pilot
- Control
- Security-aware radius, SLA, curfew and safe-transport policy
Franchise and operating model
Use an EVS-controlled managed licence with two existing Lviv partner bays. EVS owns brand, SOP, platform whitelist, training, audit and stop-work rights; the Ukrainian operator owns premises, employment, permits, insurer/waste contracts and customers. No territory exclusivity or passive franchise during the pilot.
Operating responsibility
| Capability | Evs | Operator |
|---|---|---|
| Brand, SOP, training and audit | Own and retain stop-work right | Execute under revocable managed licence |
| Premises, staff and local contracts | Approve | Use partner bays; employ/contract locally |
| Security and continuity | Set red-line gates | Own alerts, shelter, curfew and backup-power plan |
| Diagnostics and data governance | Specify, whitelist and audit | Operate with lawful access controls |
| HV, fire, waste and insurance | Set minimum and audit | Maintain named responsible person and local contracts |
| Fleet sales and customer care | Provide playbook | Own Ukrainian relationships and fulfilment |
- Evs
- Own and retain stop-work right
- Operator
- Execute under revocable managed licence
- Evs
- Approve
- Operator
- Use partner bays; employ/contract locally
- Evs
- Set red-line gates
- Operator
- Own alerts, shelter, curfew and backup-power plan
- Evs
- Specify, whitelist and audit
- Operator
- Operate with lawful access controls
- Evs
- Set minimum and audit
- Operator
- Maintain named responsible person and local contracts
- Evs
- Provide playbook
- Operator
- Own Ukrainian relationships and fulfilment
90-day pilot economics
Base case: 450 orders × UAH18,000 = UAH8.10m revenue; 50% gross margin yields UAH4.05m gross profit and UAH0.15m EBITDA after UAH3.90m OPEX. Break-even is 434 orders. Cautious EBITDA is −UAH1.725m; high is UAH4.425m. Figures exclude VAT, tax, financing, FX and grants [evs_model].
90-day pilot EBITDA scenarios
Lviv partner-bay model; UAH before tax, VAT, financing and grants.
Pilot economics
| Scenario | Orders | Aro | Revenue | Gross Margin | Gross Profit | Opex | Ebitda |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 250 | 15,000 | 3,750,000 | 0.42 | 1,575,000 | 3,300,000 | -1,725,000 |
- Orders
- 250
- Aro
- 15,000
- Revenue
- 3,750,000
- Gross Margin
- 0.42
- Gross Profit
- 1,575,000
- Opex
- 3,300,000
- Ebitda
- -1,725,000
Risks and mitigations
War/security, insurance exclusions, power disruption and staff continuity dominate ordinary market risk [worldbank_rdna5][rada_martial]. Secondary stock, demand pull-forward, strong specialists, OEM access and battery/fire exposure follow. Controls are partner bays, written stop triggers/cover, official extract, anchors, platform whitelist and quarantine.
Risk register
| Risk | Impact | Mitigation | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Active war, air attacks, curfews and power disruption | People, asset, uptime and demand shock | Lviv partner bays, stop-work triggers, backup power, no greenfield capex | Board/country lead |
| War-risk insurance exclusions or withdrawal | Uninsurable loss and franchise liability | Written bindable cover and quarterly exclusion review; no lease without it | Legal/finance |
| Secondary all-class stock and inferred passenger base | TAM error | Buy official class/status extract and VIN-level partner data before site decision | Finance/data |
| 2025 pull-forward then 2026 VAT-driven slump | Demand and mix volatility | Forecast from stock, not 2025 flow; stress test at 5% growth | Commercial |
| Strong Tesla and grey-import specialists | Slow acquisition and price pressure | Evidence product, fleet SLA, multi-brand coverage and referrals | Commercial |
| Battery thermal event or unsafe salvage pack | Severe injury, fire and reputation loss | Intake exclusion, quarantine, thermal monitoring, rescue drills and insurer sign-off | HV responsible person |
| OEM gateway/data/parts constraints | Low first-time-fix | Platform whitelist, transparent referral and approved parts provenance | Technical lead |
- Impact
- People, asset, uptime and demand shock
- Mitigation
- Lviv partner bays, stop-work triggers, backup power, no greenfield capex
- Owner
- Board/country lead
- Impact
- Uninsurable loss and franchise liability
- Mitigation
- Written bindable cover and quarterly exclusion review; no lease without it
- Owner
- Legal/finance
- Impact
- TAM error
- Mitigation
- Buy official class/status extract and VIN-level partner data before site decision
- Owner
- Finance/data
- Impact
- Demand and mix volatility
- Mitigation
- Forecast from stock, not 2025 flow; stress test at 5% growth
- Owner
- Commercial
- Impact
- Slow acquisition and price pressure
- Mitigation
- Evidence product, fleet SLA, multi-brand coverage and referrals
- Owner
- Commercial
- Impact
- Severe injury, fire and reputation loss
- Mitigation
- Intake exclusion, quarantine, thermal monitoring, rescue drills and insurer sign-off
- Owner
- HV responsible person
- Impact
- Low first-time-fix
- Mitigation
- Platform whitelist, transparent referral and approved parts provenance
- Owner
- Technical lead
90-day entry plan
Days 0–30: counsel, security/insurance/fire/waste review, official stock extract, Lviv partner/competitor sprint and channel presales. Days 31–60: authorise team, portable tools, backup power, two paid anchors and drills. Days 61–90: two partner bays with weekly security, P&L, quality and access review.
90-day plan
| Period | Actions | Exit |
|---|---|---|
| Days 0–30 | Ukraine counsel; security, insurer/fire/waste review; official stock extract; Lviv partner shortlist; 20 competitor/channel interviews | No lease, battery opening or irreversible fit-out |
- Actions
- Ukraine counsel; security, insurer/fire/waste review; official stock extract; Lviv partner shortlist; 20 competitor/channel interviews
- Exit
- No lease, battery opening or irreversible fit-out
Explicit go / no-go gates
No public HV work until security/continuity, war-risk insurance and labour/fire/waste/legal gates are green. Advance only with ≥450 paid orders, ≥50% gross margin, ≤2.5% comeback, two anchors, ≥80% platform coverage and zero uncontrolled HV events. Any red safety/security/insurance gate stops operations.
Go/no-go gates
| Gate | Threshold | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Security and continuity | Written site security/air-raid/power/curfew plan; no active local escalation trigger | red — precondition |
- Threshold
- Written site security/air-raid/power/curfew plan; no active local escalation trigger
- Status
- red — precondition
Methodology
Primary sources were prioritised: HSC, State Tax Service, Verkhovna Rada, State Labour Service, environment ministry, NBU and the joint RDNA5. Ukravtoprom figures are cited through reputable media and labelled. Dates, vehicle classes, stock/flow and station definitions are reconciled rather than averaged.
Limitations and diligence gaps
No exact official active passenger-BEV or PHEV stock, EV age profile, authorised-service capacity, workshop throughput, insurer loss series, tariff survey or stable subnational security forecast was available. The 251,491 stock is secondary and the passenger factor is inferred. These gaps prohibit a fixed-site recommendation.
Definition reconciliation
HSC reports electric-only register stock and a broader “hybrid” category [hsc_stock]. Ukravtoprom-derived sources report additions, not net stock [unn_2025][open4_h1]. Autogeek reports all-class registered EVs [autogeek_apr]. “Charging station” is source terminology and cannot be converted to connectors without metadata [min_charge].
Definition matrix
| Term | Definition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| BEV | Vehicle powered only by electric motor(s) | Hard market anchor; HSC definition |
| Hybrid / PHEV | HSC hybrid count does not isolate externally chargeable PHEVs | Excluded from hard TAM |
| EV stock | Secondary all-class registered EV count at a date; active/class scope incomplete | Proxy input only |
| Charging station | Source terminology; may mean site, device or connector | Context only, never summed across sources |
| TAM / SAM / SOM | Total / serviceable / realistically obtainable annual service value | EVS assumption model |
- Definition
- Vehicle powered only by electric motor(s)
- Use
- Hard market anchor; HSC definition
- Definition
- HSC hybrid count does not isolate externally chargeable PHEVs
- Use
- Excluded from hard TAM
- Definition
- Secondary all-class registered EV count at a date; active/class scope incomplete
- Use
- Proxy input only
- Definition
- Source terminology; may mean site, device or connector
- Use
- Context only, never summed across sources
- Definition
- Total / serviceable / realistically obtainable annual service value
- Use
- EVS assumption model
Currency and macro treatment
All economics are nominal UAH and exclude VAT, corporate tax, financing, working capital and FX. NBU publishes the official accounting exchange rate; no EUR/USD conversion is embedded [nbu_fx]. Obtain fresh rent, wage, energy, parts, insurance and generator quotes before day 31.
Used imports and ageing cohorts
The 2025 leaders are overwhelmingly imported used Teslas, Leaf, Niro and Kona, while new Volkswagen/BYD/Zeekr cohorts grew [unn_2025]. This supports salvage/collision history, SOH and software/access evidence. Intake must record origin, title, damage, warranty, firmware and battery condition.
Fleet and commercial opportunity
Target delivery, ride-hail, rental, leasing, importer and body-shop/insurer channels with uptime SLAs. National fleet BEV stock was not sourced, so no fleet uplift is added to TAM. Two paid anchors of at least 50 addressable vehicles each are mandatory [evs_model].
Customer journey
Book by VIN/symptom and location-security window; disclose access limits; scan, isolate and photograph; issue evidence-backed estimate; obtain approval; record torque/software/battery state; test and deliver digital findings. High-risk batteries use separate towing and quarantine.
Value proposition
“Evidence before replacement”: multi-brand diagnosis, explainable battery-health reporting, collision/salvage transparency, lawful access and documented safety. Promise a clearer decision and accountable custody—not universal pack repair, OEM warranty equivalence or uninterrupted wartime operation.
Pricing architecture
Use fixed-fee inspections/diagnostics, menu pricing for chassis/thermal work and authorised estimates for HV jobs. Quote testing must separate VAT, warranty, parts, data, pickup and interruption risk. No comparable national competitor-price survey was available.
Sales channels
Lead with importers/dealers, fleets, leasing/rental, insurers/body shops, charging operators and owner communities. Use OKKO/ECOFACTOR only as potential channels [okko_charge][ecofactor]. Partners may not imply OEM authorisation or make unsupported battery claims.
B2B pipeline design
Track named fleet/importer, vehicle count, model/warranty/damage mix, current provider, downtime, location/security limits, price and procurement date. Require paid contracts; letters of interest do not clear the demand gate.
Site-selection criteria
Shortlist existing Lviv premises with segregable HV bay, external quarantine, shelter access, backup power, towing route, drainage/waste controls and fire/insurer acceptance. Weight security, operational flexibility and technical readiness above rent. No bespoke fit-out.
Pilot layout
Use one diagnostic/mechanical bay and one controlled HV-capable bay, secure tool/parts store, clean electronics bench, isolated charging and monitored external quarantine. Mark exclusion/evacuation routes and shelter/alert procedure. Keep all assets removable.
Equipment specification
Day-one kit covers CAT-rated testing, insulated tools/PPE/LOTO, multi-brand diagnostics, programming power, EV lifts, wheel/brake work, thermal inspection, surge protection and backup power. Pack-opening equipment is withheld until the battery gate.
Equipment gates
| Category | Requirement | Gate |
|---|---|---|
| HV safety | CAT-rated meters, insulated tools/PPE, rescue hook, barriers, LOTO and AED/first aid | Before energised work |
- Requirement
- CAT-rated meters, insulated tools/PPE, rescue hook, barriers, LOTO and AED/first aid
- Gate
- Before energised work
Staffing and labour
Start with a Ukraine pilot manager, named HV technician, EV mechanical technician, service adviser/mobile coordinator and 0.5 remote technical support. Labour costs are EVS assumptions; obtain three local recruitment/payroll quotes and include absence, mobilisation and continuity scenarios.
Pilot staffing
| Role | Fte | Authorisation |
|---|---|---|
| Ukraine pilot manager | 1 | Security, compliance, partner and fleet owner |
- Fte
- 1
- Authorisation
- Security, compliance, partner and fleet owner
High-voltage SOP
Identify vehicle/battery/damage state, zone, shut down, isolate, prove absence of voltage, lock/tag, wait OEM interval, verify residual energy and control keys. Maintain rescue capability and independent re-energisation check. Security alerts trigger safe suspension, not rushed closure.
Quality system
Use VIN-level pre/post scans, approvals, torque/parts/software evidence, custody log, road-test and 30-day outcome. Review every comeback, access failure and near miss weekly. Safety and evidence metrics outrank billable hours.
Data and diagnostic stack
Maintain a lawful platform whitelist for read/write functions, subscriptions, gateways, programming support, battery parameters and offline operation. Encrypt credentials/backups and audit access. Reports separate measured values, interpretations and unavailable OEM data.
Parts strategy
Stock brakes, chassis, thermal consumables and safety items; order modules/packs against confirmed jobs. Imported/salvage parts require provenance, compatibility, test evidence and consent. Track FX, lead time, warranty, firmware and return rights.
Supplier and waste controls
Approve suppliers, tow firms and waste partners by legal status, insurance, traceability, response and battery capability [mepr_waste][rada_waste]. Maintain damaged-battery custody. Confirm producer/importer obligations separately if EVS imports batteries, modules or vehicles.
Launch marketing
Launch quietly with evidence-led inspections and fleet uptime; do not market pack opening until cleared. Publish method/limitations and sample reports, not war-resilience guarantees, unsupported certificates or superlatives. Use Ukrainian-first customer materials.
Brand and trust
Use EVS black/charcoal, EVS Green #5BCC12, EVS Silver #A7B3BB, white/light grey and Inter. Display pricing logic, independent status, insurance/complaint route and safety limits. Do not use blue or mimic Tesla/BYD/OEM identity.
Franchise readiness
Ukraine is not ready for passive franchising. The first unit must be managed, removable and audited weekly. Consider a franchise only after 12 green weeks, stable local cover, repeatable training, tool/supplier redundancy and no unresolved security red line.
Governance
Board owns country-risk appetite; Ukraine lead owns security/compliance/demand; technical lead owns platform/SOP/authorisation; finance owns model/insurance; legal/brand owns contracts/claims. EVS retains immediate stop-work and brand-suspension rights.
KPI framework
Track orders, conversion, ARO, margin, utilisation, first-time-fix, comeback, cycle time, fleet mix, diagnostic coverage, unresolved faults, near misses, power/security interruptions and waste exceptions. No growth KPI overrides a red gate.
KPI framework
| Kpi | Target | Type |
|---|---|---|
| Paid orders / 90 days | ≥450 | growth |
| Blended gross margin | ≥50% | economics |
| 30-day comeback rate | ≤2.5% | quality |
| First-time-fix rate | ≥82% | quality |
| Fleet/channel share of revenue | ≥40% | mix |
| Average repair order | ≥UAH18,000 | economics |
| Uncontrolled HV events | 0 | safety |
| Security/continuity stop-work breaches | 0 | resilience |
- Target
- ≥450
- Type
- growth
- Target
- ≥50%
- Type
- economics
- Target
- ≤2.5%
- Type
- quality
- Target
- ≥82%
- Type
- quality
- Target
- ≥40%
- Type
- mix
- Target
- ≥UAH18,000
- Type
- economics
- Target
- 0
- Type
- safety
- Target
- 0
- Type
- resilience
Weekly operating cadence
Monday: security, staffing, pipeline and capacity. Wednesday: technical cases, access, parts and waste. Friday: P&L, comeback, alerts, safety and gates. Archive day-30/60/90 packs and the assumptions then in force.
Rollout logic
Stage 0 is two Lviv partner bays. Stage 1 adds western mobile/partner routes after 12 green weeks. Kyiv is partner/referral only until security and insurance gates support a satellite. Odesa/Dnipro follow only with local safe-logistics proof.
Rollout sequence
| Stage | Geography | Format | Gate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | Lviv | Two partner bays; portable tools; no battery opening | Security/insurance/legal preconditions |
| 1 | Lviv / west | Managed partner hub plus mobile routes | 90-day gates and 12 green weeks |
| 2 | Kyiv city/oblast | Partner referral or satellite only | Security trend, insurance and two anchors |
| 3 | Odesa / Dnipro | Referral/partner network | Local security, safe logistics and positive route contribution |
- Geography
- Lviv
- Format
- Two partner bays; portable tools; no battery opening
- Gate
- Security/insurance/legal preconditions
- Geography
- Lviv / west
- Format
- Managed partner hub plus mobile routes
- Gate
- 90-day gates and 12 green weeks
- Geography
- Kyiv city/oblast
- Format
- Partner referral or satellite only
- Gate
- Security trend, insurance and two anchors
- Geography
- Odesa / Dnipro
- Format
- Referral/partner network
- Gate
- Local security, safe logistics and positive route contribution
Exit and pivot options
A security/insurance breach stops operations and evacuates portable assets. If retail misses but fleets convert, retain mobile/fleet service. If access is weak, focus on inspections/mechanical/thermal/depower. If safety/legal gates fail, stop HV work and refer.
Sustainability
Extend vehicle/battery life through diagnosis before replacement, safe lawful repair and authorised treatment. Track repaired/referred packs and waste mass without inventing carbon savings. Charging expansion and reconstruction are not EVS environmental credits.
Insurance and liability
Obtain workshop liability, professional indemnity, property/business interruption, cyber, customer-vehicle custody and explicit HV/battery/fire/war cover. EBRD-backed market capacity exists but is limited [ebrd_insurance]. Bindable written cover and accepted exclusions are preconditions.
Labour-cost validation
The UAH3.9m base OPEX is an EVS envelope. Obtain three labour/payroll quotes, two partner-bay quotes, energy/backup and insurance quotes by day 31. Model 18% CIT and 20% VAT separately [ukraineinvest_tax][ukraineinvest_vat]. Recompute break-even if loaded OPEX or ARO moves >10%.
Competitor validation sprint
Mystery-shop TrueTesla, TSK, NikolaCars, Bosch Service 112, D-Volt, EV House and two authorised dealers for lead time, fee, platform, warranty, battery, software and logistics [truetesla][tsk][nikola][bosch_lviv][dvolt][evhouse][nissan]. Websites evidence offers—not competence or share.
Source hierarchy and freshness
Tier 1: Ukrainian authorities, official legislation, NBU and joint RDNA. Tier 2: Ukravtoprom-derived media, EBRD and operator primary claims. Tier 3: secondary registration, research and competitor pages. Definition/date control conflicts; unknowns become gates.
Board decision request
Approve only an UAH-capped diligence and 90-day Lviv partner pilot after all red preconditions are green. Do not approve a greenfield lease, passive franchise, territory exclusivity, battery-opening marketing or Kyiv/Dnipro/Odesa capex while the security/insurance case is unresolved.
Linked source register
The complete registry is embedded in sources with publisher, publication/access dates, links and use notes. Quantitative narrative claims carry source IDs. EVS assumptions/calculations are explicitly labelled and source-definition conflicts are recorded.
Source register
40 primary and derived sources
ShowHide
Source register
40 primary and derived sources
Get the full Ukraine report
The complete assessment — competitive matrix, location shortlist, incentive and regulatory detail, pilot-centre economics and the 90-day entry plan. Sent straight to your inbox.