Market intelligence/South Asia/Report available
Maldives.
EVS Maldives EV Service Centre Market Entry
Decision-grade market-entry report for an EVS service-centre model in Maldives.
Documented candidate indicator
586
Gross opportunity indicator; not active stock.
Electric taxis
150
Official state electric taxi fleet.
Gate jobs
142
EVS annual-job gate; not market estimate.
Base payback
131.579
Base simple payback on reversible capex.
01/The verdict in full
Executive summary
Standalone/franchise is no-go. A reversible Greater Malé managed partner clinic is conditional on a matched active-vehicle census, a fleet contract and all safety/compliance gates.
02
Decision dashboard
The market is real but narrow: micro-mobility dominates, while the 150-EV taxi fleet is the clearest passenger-EV anchor.
Decision dashboard
- Value
- 177,281
- Unit
- vehicles
- Status
- All types; not active stock
- Source
- Official table [stats_vehicle_history].
- Value
- 16,153
- Unit
- vehicles
- Status
- All types; monthly flow
- Source
- Official table [stats_vehicle_2024].
- Value
- 11
- Unit
- vehicles
- Status
- Category flow; PHEV treatment unclear
- Source
- Official table [stats_vehicle_2024].
- Value
- 150
- Unit
- vehicles
- Status
- Operating anchor fleet
- Source
- President’s Office [presidency_taxi].
- Value
- 586
- Unit
- records/vehicles
- Status
- Not active stock; no attrition adjustment
- Source
- EVS reconciliation [stats_vehicle_history][stats_vehicle_2024][presidency_taxi].
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- jobs/year
- Status
- Hard control
- Source
- EVS [evs_model].
03
Automotive market size
Official registration records establish scale but not active EV stock.
Automotive market size
- Registered Total
- 46,028
- Newly Registered
- 3,481
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 66,132
- Newly Registered
- 6,800
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 108,532
- Newly Registered
- 11,319
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 121,700
- Newly Registered
- 14,587
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 130,153
- Newly Registered
- 8,453
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 142,498
- Newly Registered
- 12,345
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 158,743
- Newly Registered
- 16,245
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- 177,281
- Newly Registered
- 18,538
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Registered Total
- —
- Newly Registered
- 16,153
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
04
2024 registration mix
Battery categories were visible, but only 11 battery cars were registered.
2024 registration mix
- Registrations
- 11,773
- Share Pct
- 72.88
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
- Registrations
- 1,731
- Share Pct
- 10.72
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
- Registrations
- 865
- Share Pct
- 5.35
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
- Registrations
- 519
- Share Pct
- 3.21
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
- Registrations
- 285
- Share Pct
- 1.76
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
- Registrations
- 11
- Share Pct
- 0.07
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
- Registrations
- 969
- Share Pct
- 6
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_2024]
05
Battery-vehicle adoption history
Battery categories grew over a decade, mostly in scooters, tricycles and bicycles.
Battery-vehicle adoption history
- Battery Car
- 0
- Battery Pickup
- —
- Battery Scooter
- 276
- Battery Tricycle
- —
- Electric Bicycle
- —
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 90
- Battery Pickup
- —
- Battery Scooter
- 417
- Battery Tricycle
- —
- Electric Bicycle
- —
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 208
- Battery Pickup
- —
- Battery Scooter
- 561
- Battery Tricycle
- 111
- Electric Bicycle
- 0
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 268
- Battery Pickup
- —
- Battery Scooter
- 1,367
- Battery Tricycle
- 1,183
- Electric Bicycle
- 150
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 350
- Battery Pickup
- 23
- Battery Scooter
- 1,878
- Battery Tricycle
- 1,911
- Electric Bicycle
- 1,273
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 379
- Battery Pickup
- 24
- Battery Scooter
- 2,185
- Battery Tricycle
- 2,400
- Electric Bicycle
- 1,273
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 384
- Battery Pickup
- 27
- Battery Scooter
- 2,558
- Battery Tricycle
- 3,014
- Electric Bicycle
- 1,624
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
- Battery Car
- 397
- Battery Pickup
- 28
- Battery Scooter
- 2,844
- Battery Tricycle
- 3,727
- Electric Bicycle
- 2,087
- Source
- [stats_vehicle_history]
06
Adoption milestones
Fleet and infrastructure milestones matter more than headline micro-mobility volume for a car-service bay.
Adoption milestones
- Event
- Battery-car registered category rose from 9 to 90 records.
- Quantity
- 90
- Meaning
- Oldest recorded cohorts may now be service-aged, but activity is unknown [stats_vehicle_history].
- Event
- Battery tricycle records rose from 111 to 3,727.
- Quantity
- 3,727
- Meaning
- Electrification is dominated by micro-mobility, outside core car/LCV bay economics [stats_vehicle_history].
- Event
- Six electric minibuses and dedicated Greater Malé charging infrastructure were introduced.
- Quantity
- 6
- Meaning
- Fleet/infrastructure signal; buses excluded from core pool [mtcc_buses][undp_male_charging].
- Event
- Battery-category registrations totalled 1,680, but battery cars were only 11.
- Quantity
- 1,680
- Meaning
- Do not equate micro-mobility growth with passenger-car repair demand [stats_vehicle_2024].
- Event
- Government launched 150 Changan-group electric taxis in Greater Malé.
- Quantity
- 150
- Meaning
- Largest verified passenger-EV fleet anchor [presidency_taxi][taxi_models].
- Event
- AutoSphere advertised multiple EV brands with after-sales support.
- Quantity
- 5
- Meaning
- Offer and incumbent-capability signal; not a sales ranking [autosphere_ev].
07
Definitions and comparability
Every registry, propulsion, vehicle and charging universe is kept separate.
Definitions and comparability
- Definition
- Official vehicle-type labels; propulsion is electric but BEV/PHEV treatment is not fully documented.
- Included In Candidate
- true
- Control
- Treat as gross registry-category records, not active BEV stock.
- Definition
- Vehicle class without propulsion split.
- Included In Candidate
- false
- Control
- Do not infer BEV/PHEV from ordinary car records.
- Definition
- Electric micro-mobility categories.
- Included In Candidate
- false
- Control
- Separate from passenger/LCV workshop TAM; consider a distinct two-wheel service format.
- Definition
- Cumulative registry table category; status/deregistration not supplied.
- Included In Candidate
- true
- Control
- No active-stock claim without SIMS extract.
- Definition
- Officially inaugurated operating vehicle.
- Included In Candidate
- true
- Control
- Service rights, warranty, VIN and contract remain unknown.
- Definition
- A documented charging location or fleet facility.
- Included In Candidate
- false
- Control
- Do not convert sites into chargers/connectors/ports or public live assets.
08
2030 opportunity sensitivities
EVS growth scenarios are anchored to a gross documented indicator, not an official active-stock forecast.
2030 opportunity sensitivities
- Annual Growth Pct
- 5
- Modelled 2030 Candidate Indicator
- 712
- Basis
- EVS sensitivity: 586 documented passenger/light-commercial battery-category records and confirmed fleet vehicles × four years of assumed growth. This is a gross opportunity indicator, not an active-stock forecast.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 15
- Modelled 2030 Candidate Indicator
- 1,025
- Basis
- EVS sensitivity: 586 documented passenger/light-commercial battery-category records and confirmed fleet vehicles × four years of assumed growth. This is a gross opportunity indicator, not an active-stock forecast.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 30
- Modelled 2030 Candidate Indicator
- 1,674
- Basis
- EVS sensitivity: 586 documented passenger/light-commercial battery-category records and confirmed fleet vehicles × four years of assumed growth. This is a gross opportunity indicator, not an active-stock forecast.
09
Charging infrastructure
Two documented initiatives do not form a national public live-asset census.
Charging infrastructure
- Status
- Inaugurated June 2023
- Access
- Fleet-dedicated; public access not established
- Count
- —
- Decision Use
- Inspect power, connectors, uptime and maintenance rights [undp_male_charging].
- Status
- Launched August 2023
- Access
- Community; free for two-year project period
- Count
- 1
- Decision Use
- Confirm post-project operation and vehicle compatibility [undp_vaadhoo].
- Status
- No authoritative inventory located
- Access
- Unknown
- Count
- —
- Decision Use
- Survey 20 owners/fleets; record connector, kW, protection, uptime and failure history.
- Status
- Not located
- Access
- Unknown
- Count
- —
- Decision Use
- Executable count remains null; do not infer from announcements.
10
Island-grid reality
Each site needs its own power, protection, climate and utility assessment.
Island-grid reality
- Fact
- ADB reports 68 MW PV installed by December 2024 against about 600 MW total installed capacity.
- Decision Use
- Grid remains mixed and island-specific [adb_energy_2024].
11
Parc age and service demand
An older battery-car cohort may exist, while the taxi fleet creates high-utilisation wear demand.
Parc age and service demand
- Value
- Potential 10+ year cohort exists
- Confidence
- Medium for registry history; low for active status
- Decision Use
- Target battery health, 12V, thermal, corrosion and suspension inspections [stats_vehicle_history].
- Value
- 3.85× record growth
- Confidence
- High for official series
- Decision Use
- General workshop demand is large but not an EV-specific TAM [stats_vehicle_history].
- Value
- 150 fleet EVs
- Confidence
- High for fleet size
- Decision Use
- High utilisation can accelerate tyres, brakes, suspension, cooling and charging-fault demand [presidency_taxi].
- Value
- —
- Confidence
- Unavailable
- Decision Use
- Obtain fleet/dealer/registry extracts before stocking parts.
12
TAM / SAM / SOM
Gross candidate evidence is measurable; current SAM is null and executable SOM is zero.
TAM / SAM / SOM
- Value
- 425
- Unit
- battery car/pick-up records
- Basis
- 397 battery cars + 28 battery pick-ups.
- Classification
- Sourced gross records; not active stock [stats_vehicle_history].
- Value
- 436
- Unit
- records plus flow
- Basis
- 425 + 11 new battery-car registrations; no attrition adjustment.
- Classification
- EVS reconciliation [stats_vehicle_2024].
- Value
- 586
- Unit
- records/vehicles
- Basis
- 436 + 150 confirmed taxi EVs.
- Classification
- Not active stock; some records may be inactive [presidency_taxi].
13
Customer segments
Fleet uptime is the priority; micro-mobility requires separate economics.
Customer segments
- Segment
- MTCC Malé Taxi Line
- Need
- 24/7 uptime, battery/thermal diagnostics, tyres, suspension and charging support
- Proof
- Paid pilot or binding LOI covering ≥25 vehicles.
- Segment
- Resort, airport and institutional fleets
- Need
- On-island triage, planned visits, documented safety and parts logistics
- Proof
- VIN list, utilisation, downtime and paid inspection day.
- Segment
- Private passenger EV owners
- Need
- Battery health, pre-purchase, charging and transparent independent diagnosis
- Proof
- Deposits and supported VIN demand.
- Segment
- Electric scooters/tricycles
- Need
- High-volume low-ticket electrical and chassis service
- Proof
- Separate workflow/economics; do not subsidise car bay.
14
Fleet opportunities
The MTCC taxi fleet is the first commercial proof target.
Fleet opportunities
- Signal
- 150 EVs operating 24/7; 13,073 trips reported over 22 days.
- Action
- Tender/service-right diligence; inspect 25 VINs and charging logs [presidency_taxi][taxi_trips].
- Signal
- Six electric buses and dedicated charging stations documented.
- Action
- Refer heavy-bus scope unless separate equipment/competence contract [mtcc_buses][undp_male_charging].
- Signal
- Island-based fleet demand is plausible but no current census obtained.
- Action
- Interview ten resort engineering/procurement teams; contract travel and battery logistics.
- Signal
- Government announced 2026 taxi expansion.
- Action
- Treat as pipeline only until vehicles, site and contract are confirmed [presidency_taxi].
15
Leading brands and models
Changan/Deepal has the clearest fleet presence; other brands are offer signals.
Leading brands and models
- Models
- Lumin, Deepal S05, Deepal S07
- Evidence
- 150-vehicle state taxi mix
- Ranking
- Verified fleet anchor, not national share [taxi_models].
- Models
- Current AutoSphere offering
- Evidence
- Commercial 2026 range
- Ranking
- Availability signal only [autosphere_ev].
- Models
- EV range advertised
- Evidence
- Commercial 2026 range
- Ranking
- No registrations or model volumes [autosphere_ev].
- Models
- Battery car/pick-up categories
- Evidence
- Official registry tables
- Ranking
- Brands not disclosed [stats_vehicle_history].
16In the full report
OEM and fleet competitors
Fleet procurement and AutoSphere can both constrain independent service rights.
This section is in the full report.
17In the full report
Independent competitors
General workshops have trust and location; HV capability remains unverified.
This section is in the full report.
18In the full report
Priority cities and islands
Greater Malé is the only fixed-pilot candidate; all other geographies are contract-led.
This section is in the full report.
19In the full report
Consumer incentives
No unverified current import benefit enters economics.
This section is in the full report.
20In the full report
Business and investment incentives
Foreign investment is a compliance route, not a subsidy.
This section is in the full report.
21In the full report
Tax and payroll snapshot
Current official rates are planning inputs; written advice controls.
This section is in the full report.
22In the full report
Entity, licensing and premises
Written determinations precede lease or equipment commitments.
This section is in the full report.
23In the full report
Labour and competence
Local employment/electrical compliance and traction-HV competence are distinct.
This section is in the full report.
24In the full report
High-voltage safety
Manufacturer procedures, local law and insurer controls apply.
This section is in the full report.
25In the full report
Battery, waste and transport
Traction-pack work remains held.
This section is in the full report.
26
Data, consumer and warranty
Independent status, estimates, scope and custody controls are explicit.
Data, consumer and warranty
- Requirement
- Written scope, price range, diagnostic limits and approval for changes [consumer].
- Requirement
- No implied OEM authorisation; disclose warranty, recall, software and data limits.
- Requirement
- Provenance, condition, lead time, manufacturer warranty and EVS workmanship warranty.
- Requirement
- Consent, least privilege, secure credentials/logs, deletion schedule and customer export.
- Requirement
- Evidence retention, escalation and Consumer Ombudsman access [consumer].
27In the full report
Recommended service portfolio
Launch with low-complexity, evidence-rich services.
This section is in the full report.
28In the full report
Operating model
A managed partner bay preserves reversibility.
This section is in the full report.
29In the full report
Franchise and rollout model
Standalone rollout is deferred until base payback is investable.
This section is in the full report.
30In the full report
Annual pilot economics
Only the high case approaches a three-year payback.
This section is in the full report.
31In the full report
90-day pilot economics
Continuation requires the base gate.
This section is in the full report.
32In the full report
Risks
Denominator, captive service, micro-mobility mix, site, batteries, skills and economics drive the decision.
This section is in the full report.
33
Mitigations
Controls are documentary and auditable.
Mitigations
- Control
- Matched VIN census with registration status, location, class, owner, warranty and duplicate rules.
- Owner
- Country lead
- Evidence
- Signed data dictionary and extract.
- Control
- Paid bookings and fleet LOI before mobilisation.
- Owner
- Commercial lead
- Evidence
- Deposits, invoices, contract.
- Control
- Supported-VIN/task matrix and practical technician assessment.
- Owner
- Technical lead
- Evidence
- Assessment and audit log.
- Control
- Thirty-day power logger, earthing/protection test, flood/salt/fire review.
- Owner
- Engineer/insurer
- Evidence
- Stamped report and acceptance.
- Control
- Hold pack work until storage/carrier/recipient chain is approved.
- Owner
- HSE lead
- Evidence
- Permits, contracts and manifests.
- Control
- One bay, six-month licence, variable staffing and stop-loss gate.
- Owner
- Country P&L
- Evidence
- Weekly cohort P&L.
34In the full report
90-day entry plan
The first month is denominator-, contract- and compliance-led.
This section is in the full report.
35In the full report
Go / no-go gates
Every launch gate is open; standalone is no-go.
This section is in the full report.
36
Methodology
Sourced facts and EVS assumptions remain separate.
Methodology
- Method
- Freeze definitions
- Detail
- Battery car/pick-up, ordinary car, micro-mobility, bus, active status, fleet vehicle, site and connector are separate.
- Method
- Prioritise primary sources
- Detail
- Statistics Bureau/Transport, President’s Office, UNDP, World Bank/ADB, URA, MIRA, trade, labour and consumer routes.
- Method
- Reconcile time and universes
- Detail
- End-2023 cumulative records, 2024 registration flow and 2026 fleet are not summed into active stock; 586 is a gross opportunity indicator.
- Method
- Size only supported quantities
- Detail
- Gross candidate records are shown; SAM null; executable SOM zero.
- Method
- Model transparent sensitivities
- Detail
- 2030 growth, pool factors and economics are EVS assumptions; nominal MVR, GST-exclusive, pre-tax.
- Method
- Convert uncertainty to gates
- Detail
- Data, paid demand, capability, compliance/site and continuation evidence.
37
Further questions and data requests
Seven missing evidence sets can change the decision.
Further questions and data requests
- Gap
- Active passenger/LCV BEV and PHEV stock by class, island, status, age, owner and VIN
- Owner
- MEDTT/SIMS
- Decision Effect
- TAM/SAM and site.
- Gap
- 2025–2026 propulsion/category registrations and deregistrations
- Owner
- MEDTT/Statistics Bureau
- Decision Effect
- Current pool and forecast.
- Gap
- MTCC fleet warranty, service contract, VINs, uptime, charging and parts data
- Owner
- MTCC/OEM
- Decision Effect
- Anchor demand and competition.
- Gap
- Operational charger site/connector/power/access/tariff/uptime inventory
- Owner
- URA/STELCO/FENAKA/operators
- Decision Effect
- Charging-service opportunity.
- Gap
- Dealer/resort fleet models, warranties, failures and parts SLA
- Owner
- Dealers/resorts
- Decision Effect
- Supported scope and stock.
- Gap
- Damaged-pack storage, inter-island carrier, export/recycling and recipient
- Owner
- URA/EPA/carriers/insurer
- Decision Effect
- Pack-work boundary.
- Gap
- Paid repair need, ARO and willingness to pay
- Owner
- EVS field team
- Decision Effect
- Continuation economics.
38
Complete linked source register
Every source records publication/access data, classification, URL and decision use.
Complete linked source register
- Publisher
- Maldives Bureau of Statistics
- Publication Date
- 2025-06-02
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://statisticsmaldives.gov.mv/yearbook/2025/
- Decision Use
- Official index for 2024 vehicle and electricity tables.
- Publisher
- Maldives Bureau of Statistics / Ministry of Transport
- Publication Date
- 2025-06-02
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://statisticsmaldives.gov.mv/yearbook/2025/wp-content/uploads/sites/12/2025/07/11.1.pdf
- Decision Use
- Official 2024 registration flow by type: 16,153 total, including battery categories.
- Publisher
- Maldives Bureau of Statistics / Transport Authority
- Publication Date
- 2024-06-30
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://statisticsmaldives.gov.mv/yearbook/2024/wp-content/uploads/sites/11/2024/11/11.3.pdf
- Decision Use
- Official stock-like registered records and newly registered flows by vehicle type; no active/deregistered flag or BEV/PHEV detail within ordinary car classes.
- Publisher
- Maldives Bureau of Statistics
- Publication Date
- 2024-06-30
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://statisticsmaldives.gov.mv/yearbook/2024/
- Decision Use
- Official table index and source context.
- Publisher
- World Bank
- Publication Date
- 2022-09-08
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.worldbank.org/en/events/2022/09/08/survey-accelerating-the-electric-vehicles-transition-in-maldives
- Decision Use
- Authoritative survey context: motorcycles over 50cc were about 80% of registered stock; parking and co-located charging are key Malé barriers; cited duty advantage is historical policy context.
- Publisher
- President’s Office
- Publication Date
- 2026-04-02
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://presidency.gov.mv/Press/Article/36439
- Decision Use
- Official confirmation of 150 electric vehicles operating 24/7 in Greater Malé and planned Addu expansion in 2026.
- Publisher
- Atoll Times
- Publication Date
- 2026-04-02
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Secondary media reporting
- Url
- https://atolltimes.mv/post/news/15423
- Decision Use
- Secondary model mix: 70 Lumin, 60 Deepal S05 and 20 Deepal S07; verify fleet VINs and service contract.
- Publisher
- MV+
- Publication Date
- 2026-05-14
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Secondary media reporting
- Url
- https://www.plus.mv/english/govt-owned-taxi-line-completes-over-13000-trips-since-launch/
- Decision Use
- Secondary report of 13,073 trips from 18 April to 9 May 2026; supports utilisation diligence, not forecast.
- Publisher
- UNDP Maldives
- Publication Date
- 2023-06-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.undp.org/maldives/press-releases/greater-maale-region-unveils-ev-minibus-charging-stations-leading-charge-towards-sustainable-and-green-mobility
- Decision Use
- Authoritative confirmation of dedicated EV-minibus charging stations; connector count/power and public access not reported.
- Publisher
- UNDP Maldives
- Publication Date
- 2023-08-03
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.undp.org/maldives/news/vaadhoo-island-pioneers-first-community-built-solar-charging-station-electric-vehicles-maldives
- Decision Use
- Authoritative confirmation of one community-built solar charging station on Raa Atoll Vaadhoo.
- Publisher
- Times of Addu
- Publication Date
- 2022-11-07
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Secondary media reporting
- Url
- https://timesofaddu.com/2022/11/07/electric-busses-brought-for-rtl-minibus-fleet/
- Decision Use
- Secondary report of six 15-person electric buses; excluded from passenger/LCV service pool.
- Publisher
- Edition
- Publication Date
- 2026-07-19
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Commercial / secondary
- Url
- https://edition.mv/business/52631
- Decision Use
- Current commercial report: BYD, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, MINI and Nissan EVs plus after-sales support; no sales volumes.
- Publisher
- Corporate Maldives
- Publication Date
- 2026-04-21
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Commercial / secondary
- Url
- https://corporatemaldives.com/autosphere-by-the-hawks-launches-in-hulhumale-with-focus-on-professional-vehicle-servicing/
- Decision Use
- Commercial report describes lifts, tyres, balancing, A/C and alignment capability; traction-HV scope not proven.
- Publisher
- Maadu Garage
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Commercial primary source
- Url
- https://maadugarage.com/
- Decision Use
- Commercial primary source for a long-established general workshop with three Malé facilities; no verified traction-HV capability.
- Publisher
- World Bank
- Publication Date
- 2023-03-14
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.worldbank.org/en/results/2023/03/14/powered-by-the-sunshine-achieving-cheaper-cleaner-and-sustainable-energy-in-the-maldives
- Decision Use
- ASPIRE/ARISE plan more than 53.5 MW solar and 50 MWh storage; project scale, not achieved 2026 mix.
- Publisher
- Asian Development Bank
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.adb.org/multimedia/partnership-report2024/our-stories/empowering-maldives-a-sustainable-energy-future-for-everyone-through-renewable-innovations/
- Decision Use
- As of Dec 2024, reports 68 MW solar installed, about 600 MW total capacity, and a 33% renewable-electricity target for 2028; diesel dependence remains material.
- Publisher
- Asian Development Bank
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.adb.org/projects/46122-003/main
- Decision Use
- Authoritative project route for solar-diesel hybrid systems on about 160 islands.
- Publisher
- Maldives Bureau of Statistics
- Publication Date
- 2024-06-06
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://statisticsmaldives.gov.mv/environmental-roadmap-2024/
- Decision Use
- Official environmental-roadmap publication hub used only as policy context; no EV market statistic inferred.
- Publisher
- Climate and Clean Air Coalition / UN Environment Programme
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ccacoalition.org/projects/maldives-develop-emission-inventories-transport-sector
- Decision Use
- Authoritative project evidence that transport-inventory capability and data-gap work are being developed; no vehicle-stock figure used.
- Publisher
- Utility Regulatory Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ura.gov.mv/en
- Decision Use
- Current regulator for energy, waste, water and petroleum; 2026 inspection activity confirms operating oversight.
- Publisher
- Utility Regulatory Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ura.gov.mv/en/publications/sector-publication-5
- Decision Use
- Current official URA publication page summarising responsibilities under Utility Regulatory Authority Act 26/2020.
- Publisher
- Utility Regulatory Authority
- Publication Date
- 2026-06-29
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ura.gov.mv/en/publications/2026-r-57-general-regulation-for-energy-services
- Decision Use
- Current official energy-services regulation publication; obtain a written determination for workshop EVSE activities.
- Publisher
- Utility Regulatory Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ura.gov.mv/en/list/sectors/energy/legislations/regulations
- Decision Use
- Current official regulation register; licensed engineer and current technical-standard confirmation remain launch gates.
- Publisher
- Utility Regulatory Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ura.gov.mv/en/publications/energy-maximum-rate-regulation
- Decision Use
- Current official energy-rate publication; site-specific capacity, connection approval and utility requirements still control.
- Publisher
- Utility Regulatory Authority
- Publication Date
- 2022-12-18
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.ura.gov.mv/en/publications/waste-act
- Decision Use
- Official waste law route.
- Publisher
- President’s Office
- Publication Date
- 2022-12-18
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://presidency.gov.mv/Press/Article/27797
- Decision Use
- Official summary: standards, procedures, enforcement, recycling/reuse and penalties.
- Publisher
- Maldives Inland Revenue Authority
- Publication Date
- 2022-12-18
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.mira.gov.mv/Legislations/View/waste-management-act
- Decision Use
- Official-hosted extract says waste-management services require Authority registration and operating licence.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://pay.transport.gov.mv/
- Decision Use
- Official vehicle annual-fee, fines and sticker route.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://sims.transport.gov.mv/
- Decision Use
- Official authenticated transport registry portal; public aggregate propulsion extract unavailable.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.transport.gov.mv/en/regulations/
- Decision Use
- Official transport-regulation index; workshop/inspection scope requires written determination.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://trade.gov.mv/en/contact-us/
- Decision Use
- Official OneGov, SIMS, SavaareePay, foreign investment and consumer contact routes.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://trade.gov.mv/en/invest-maldives/
- Decision Use
- Current process under Foreign Investment Law 11/2024 includes approval, USD5,000 administration fee, registration, licence and agreement.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- 2025-11-27
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://trade.gov.mv/en/24435/
- Decision Use
- Official warning that permitted/prohibited sectors are governed by Foreign Investment Act 11/2024 and the October 2025 announcement.
- Publisher
- Maldives Inland Revenue Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://mira.gov.mv/Pages/View/FAQ_GST
- Decision Use
- Current general GST 8%; tourism GST 17% from 1 July 2025; registration generally mandatory for importers or MVR1m taxable-sales threshold.
- Publisher
- Maldives Inland Revenue Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://mira.gov.mv/Pages/View/ictcompanies
- Decision Use
- Current company rates: 0% up to MVR500,000 taxable income and 15% above.
- Publisher
- Maldives Pension Administration Office
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://old.pension.gov.mv/en/faq/employers
- Decision Use
- Mandatory local-employee contribution is 14% of pensionable wage: 7% employer and 7% employee.
- Publisher
- Labour Relations Authority
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://lra.gov.mv/labour-relations-authority/
- Decision Use
- LRA enforces Employment Act 2/2008 and may inspect workplaces and records.
- Publisher
- President’s Office
- Publication Date
- 2024-09-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://presidency.gov.mv/Press/Article/31469
- Decision Use
- Official foreign-worker authorisation, quota, work-permit and workplace-registration obligations.
- Publisher
- Public Service Media
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Authoritative secondary
- Url
- https://psmnews.mv/en/94477
- Decision Use
- Government-linked report of small/medium/large monthly floors; obtain current directive and classification before hiring.
- Publisher
- Public Service Media
- Publication Date
- 2024-01-02
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Authoritative secondary
- Url
- https://psmnews.mv/en/130932
- Decision Use
- Government-linked summary of workplace health/safety standards, employer liability and injury compensation.
- Publisher
- Public Service Media
- Publication Date
- 2024-10-16
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Authoritative secondary
- Url
- https://psmnews.mv/en/145816
- Decision Use
- Government-linked summary of safety arrangements and officer thresholds; EVS pilot remains below 75 employees.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://trade.gov.mv/en/consumer-ombudsman/
- Decision Use
- Official dispute-resolution route under Consumer Protection Act 12/2020.
- Publisher
- Ministry of Economic Development, Transport and Trade
- Publication Date
- 2024-01-14
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://trade.gov.mv/en/13863/
- Decision Use
- Official company-registration/legal-notice route.
- Publisher
- World Bank
- Publication Date
- 2023-05-08
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/press-release/2023/05/08/world-bank-supports-maldives-to-reform-state-owned-enterprises-and-strengthen-private-sector
- Decision Use
- Authoritative context on high transport costs, skills shortages and SOE competition; not a workshop incentive.
- Publisher
- ISO
- Publication Date
- 2021-01-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.iso.org/standard/45477.html
- Decision Use
- International benchmark; Maldives legal adoption is not assumed.
- Publisher
- ISO
- Publication Date
- 2020-01-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.iso.org/standard/68474.html
- Decision Use
- International benchmark for vehicle conductive charging; local approval controls.
- Publisher
- IEC
- Publication Date
- 2017-02-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/33644
- Decision Use
- International EVSE benchmark; local conformity and installation approval required.
- Publisher
- UNECE
- Publication Date
- 2022-03-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://unece.org/transport/documents/2022/03/standards/un-regulation-no-100-rev3
- Decision Use
- International electric-powertrain safety benchmark; local applicability not assumed.
- Publisher
- UNECE
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://unece.org/transport/dangerous-goods/rev8-files
- Decision Use
- International lithium-battery transport test route; carrier and authority rules control.
- Publisher
- Basel Convention Secretariat
- Publication Date
- —
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.basel.int/TheConvention/Overview/TextoftheConvention/tabid/1275/Default.aspx
- Decision Use
- International hazardous-waste movement framework; competent-authority procedure controls.
- Publisher
- UNDP Maldives
- Publication Date
- 2023-06-01
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- Primary / authoritative
- Url
- https://www.undp.org/maldives/press-releases/greater-maale-region-unveils-ev-minibus-charging-stations-leading-charge-towards-sustainable-and-green-mobility
- Decision Use
- Policy context for lower-carbon public transport; not a sales forecast.
- Publisher
- EVS Worldwide
- Publication Date
- 2026-08-11
- Accessed At
- 2026-08-11
- Classification
- EVS assumption register
- Url
- https://evsworldwide.com/
- Decision Use
- All gates, sensitivities and economics are EVS assumptions unless explicitly sourced.
Method / Sources and confidence
Where every figure
comes from.
Registrations, charging and legal requirements are read from primary sources. Where no official dataset exists, the model and its assumptions are published instead of a single unexplained number. This report is a dated snapshot: August 2026.
- 01Statistical Yearbook of Maldives 2025
- 02Table 11.1: Monthly registered vehicles by type, 2024
- 03Table 11.3: Registered and newly registered vehicles by type, 2010–2023
- 04Statistical Yearbook of Maldives 2024
- 05Accelerating the electric vehicles transition in Maldives
- 06President inaugurates Malé Taxi Line
- 07Government launches taxi service with 150 electric vehicles
- 08Malé Taxi Line completes more than 13,000 trips
- 09Greater Malé EV minibus charging stations inaugurated
- 10Vaadhoo community solar EV charging station
- 11Six electric buses added to Malé minibus fleet
- 12AutoSphere expands electric vehicle range
- 13AutoSphere launches service centre in Hulhumalé
- 14Maadu Garage services and locations
- 15Powered by sunshine: Maldives energy transition
- 16Attaining energy security with renewable solutions
- 17Preparing Outer Islands for Sustainable Energy Development
- 18Environmental Roadmap 2024
- 19Maldives—Develop emission inventories for the transport sector
- 20Utility Regulatory Authority
- 21Utility Regulatory Authority statutory responsibilities
- 222026/R-57 General Regulation for Energy Services
- 23Energy-sector regulations register
- 24Energy Maximum Rate Regulation
- 25Waste Management Act 24/2022
- 26President ratifies Waste Management Act
- 27Waste Management Act—service licensing extract
- 28SavaareePay vehicle services
- 29SIMS vehicle registration portal
- 30Transport regulations register
- 31Business, transport and consumer service routes
- 32Invest Maldives—foreign investment process
- 33Foreign-business sector restrictions notice
- 34GST FAQ
- 35Income tax—companies
- 36Pension Office employer FAQ
- 37Labour Relations Authority mandate
- 38Eighth amendment to Employment Act
- 39Government approves minimum wages
- 40Occupational Safety and Health Act 09/2023 ratified
- 41Occupational safety and health regulations
- 42Consumer Ombudsman
- 43Registrar’s Gazette and Companies Act 9/2023
- 44Maldives private-sector strengthening project
- 45ISO 6469-3 electrically propelled road vehicles—electrical safety
- 46ISO 17409 conductive power transfer—safety
- 47IEC 61851-1 EV conductive charging system
- 48UN Regulation No.100 Rev.3
- 49UN Manual of Tests and Criteria Rev.8
- 50Basel Convention text
- 51Greater Malé charging initiative and NDC implementation
- 52EVS Maldives decision model
Reports are commercial research, not legal, tax or investment advice.
Get the full Maldives report
The complete assessment — competitive matrix, location shortlist, incentive and regulatory detail, pilot-centre economics and the 90-day entry plan. Sent straight to your inbox.
Other markets in South Asia.
Compare these marketsIndia
5,675,000
All-category EV registrations
Nepal
11,668
FY2025/26 passenger BEV imports
Sri Lanka
7,256
2025 BEV passenger-class registrations
Pakistan
2,850
Active electric vehicles
04 / Not in your country yet?
Bring EVS
to your market.
Tell us your territory. We'll send the market research alongside the franchise pack and connect you with the team behind every EVS centre.