Market intelligence/Caribbean/Report available
Barbados.
EVS Barbados EV Service Centre Market Entry
Decision-grade Barbados assessment separating UN customs plug-in flows, historical stock statements, the wider registered parc, ordinary hybrids, public buses and charging evidence from EVS assumptions.
Light plug-in pool
5,796
EVS 97%-active pool from the 2022–2025 customs cohort; not official live stock.
Stations
0
No authoritative deduplicated national public-charger count located.
Jobs/year
2,660
Core-corridor concentration × independent reach × annual service frequency.
Years
3.731
Base one-bay simple payback on BBD180,000 capex; before tax, finance and working capital.
01/The verdict in full
Executive summary
- Approve diligence and a reversible pilot, not a dedicated centre. UN customs data yields an approximately 5,975-unit 2022–2025 plug-in cohort; EVS applies a 97% active factor to a 5,796-vehicle planning pool [uncomtrade_api].
- 2025 was a step-change, but the denominator is not stock. Technology-line quantities were 3,769 BEVs and 50 PHEVs; the broad passenger import denominator was estimated at 8,804.075 [uc_2025_bev] [uc_2025_phev_s] [uc_2025_phev_d] [uc_2025_total].
- Use a central partner and respect OEM boundaries. Megapower, Inchcape and Courtesy Garage provide meaningful authorised/specialist competition [megapower] [inchcape_launch] [dealer_sales_2026].
- No investment is authorised yet. Executable SOM is zero until cumulative market, demand, compliance, HV, battery, economics and quality gates pass.
02
Board decision
Authorise up to 90 days of diligence and a managed one-bay pilot inside a compliant Bridgetown–Wildey corridor partner. Do not sign a standalone lease, sell a franchise, open traction batteries or recognise market share. Advance only if ≥1,500 supported active VINs, two LOIs, 45 bookings, written approvals, 90 paid pilot jobs and the BBD180,000/4.0-year capital gate are evidenced.
Decision Summary
- Decision
- CONDITIONAL GO — managed Bridgetown–Wildey partner bay
- Reason
- A ~5,975-unit 2022–2025 customs cohort supports validation, but is not official live stock.
- Decision
- HOLD
- Reason
- OEM service competition and missing VIN/charger/age evidence make fixed capital premature.
- Decision
- ~5,975 BEV+PHEV import units, 2022–2025
- Reason
- 2022–2024 estimated customs quantities plus exact 2025 technology-line counts [uncomtrade_api].
- Decision
- Zero
- Reason
- No share or capital is authorised until every cumulative gate passes.
03
Plug-in imports accelerated sharply, but flows are not stock
Passenger plug-in import quantities rose from about 295 in 2022 to 876 in 2023, 985 in 2024 and 3,819 in 2025 [uc_2022_bev] [uc_2023_bev] [uc_2024_bev] [uc_2025_bev]. Their rounded sum—5,975—is a cohort proxy. The historical 650-EV statement and 181,544 wider registered vehicles are non-additive cross-checks [historic_stock_2021] [parc_2026].
Estimated 2022–2024 quantities, exact 2025 tech-line counts and cohort proxy are not live stock.
Market KPIs
- Value
- 5,975
- Unit
- approx. import units
- Period
- 2022–2025
- Evidence
- UN customs flows; 2022–2024 estimated and 2025 exact by technology line [uncomtrade_api].
- Value
- 3,769
- Unit
- units
- Period
- 2025
- Evidence
- Exact customs quantity [uc_2025_bev].
- Value
- 50
- Unit
- units
- Period
- 2025
- Evidence
- 47 spark + 3 diesel, exact [uc_2025_phev_s] [uc_2025_phev_d].
- Value
- 4,168
- Unit
- units
- Period
- 2025
- Evidence
- No external plug; excluded [uc_2025_hev_s] [uc_2025_hev_d].
- Value
- 181,544
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- February 2026
- Evidence
- Ministry consultation figure reported by Starcom; not plug-in stock [parc_2026].
- Value
- 89
- Unit
- buses
- Period
- April 2025
- Evidence
- Official fleet statement; separate heavy-vehicle segment [bus_2025].
Definition-sensitive electrification observations
- BEV
- 295.061
- PHEV (unavailable)
- 0.246
- BEV used in model
- 295.307
- Scope
- Estimated passenger import quantities; customs flow [uc_2022_bev].
- BEV
- 865.748
- PHEV (unavailable)
- 9.826
- BEV used in model
- 875.574
- Scope
- Estimated passenger import quantities; customs flow [uc_2023_bev].
- BEV
- 966.08
- PHEV (unavailable)
- 18.944
- BEV used in model
- 985.024
- Scope
- Estimated passenger import quantities; customs flow [uc_2024_bev].
- BEV
- 3,769
- PHEV (unavailable)
- 50
- BEV used in model
- 3,819
- Scope
- Exact technology-line quantities; broad HS8703 denominator estimated [uc_2025_bev].
- BEV
- 5,895.889
- PHEV (unavailable)
- 79.016
- BEV used in model
- 5,975
- Scope
- Rounded cumulative customs cohort proxy; not live stock.
04
Definition discipline is the investment control
Customs flows, live stock and registered vehicles are different measures. Ordinary hybrids, public buses, dealer sales mix, sites, connectors and plugs remain separate. Estimated quantities are not presented as exact counts.
Definition reconciliation
- Included
- Core input
- Use
- Approx. 5,975-unit 2022–2025 cohort; 2022–2024 estimated quantities and 2025 exact counts.
- Included
- Not located
- Use
- VIN census required; do not label customs cohort as stock.
- Included
- Cross-check
- Use
- Secondary-reported 650; definition uncertain and not added [historic_stock_2021].
- Included
- Context only
- Use
- 181,544 is all registered vehicles, not plug-ins [parc_2026].
- Included
- Excluded
- Use
- No external plug; separate training, demand and pricing.
- Included
- Excluded
- Use
- Fleet adjacency; separate heavy-vehicle programme [bus_2025].
- Included
- Not interchangeable
- Use
- No deduplicated operating national census was located.
05
Scenario growth is planning, not policy
Each case compounds the 5,975-unit end-2025 customs cohort for five years to 2030 at 15%, 25% or 35%. These are EVS planning envelopes, not official forecasts. Barbados policy and ETIP direction support electrification but do not validate this service denominator [energy_policy] [etip].
15% / 25% / 35% CAGR from 5,975; not official stock forecasts.
Five-year EV planning scenarios
- Annual Growth Pct
- 15
- Planning cohort 2030
- 12,018
- Interpretation
- Planning cohort in 2030; EVS assumption.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 25
- Planning cohort 2030
- 18,234
- Interpretation
- Planning cohort in 2030; EVS assumption.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 35
- Planning cohort 2030
- 26,792
- Interpretation
- Planning cohort in 2030; EVS assumption.
06
Charging exists, but the current national denominator is missing
BLPC says Megapower public chargers operate at numerous locations; ChargePanel and TomTom provide further network evidence [blpc_faq] [chargepanel] [tomtom_coverage]. A 40-point study is historical [mdpi_charging]. No authoritative deduplicated operating inventory by site, connector, power and uptime was located.
Zero values mean count unavailable, not no chargers.
Charging evidence and unknowns
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- count unavailable
- Period
- 2026
- Status
- Not located; zero is missing-count semantics, not no chargers.
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- count not stated
- Period
- current page
- Status
- Utility says Megapower chargers exist at numerous locations [blpc_faq].
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- count not stated
- Period
- 2024 agreement
- Status
- ChargePanel/SmartPay evidence without national count [chargepanel].
- Value
- 40
- Unit
- points
- Period
- 2019 study
- Status
- Historical only; not current capacity [mdpi_charging].
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- required
- Period
- pre-pilot
- Status
- Record site, connectors, power, access, pricing and uptime.
07
The wider parc is large and old; the plug-in age profile is unknown
The wider registered parc was reported at 181,544 in February 2026 [parc_2026]. A 2022 official statement reported 70% of the then-wider parc older than 20 years [historic_stock_2021]. Neither statistic describes plug-in age. The missing VIN/age/warranty file is a capital gate.
Vehicle parc and service demand
- Value
- 181,544
- Unit
- vehicles
- Implication
- Large all-vehicle repair market; not a plug-in denominator [parc_2026].
- Value
- 70
- Unit
- % reportedly >20 years
- Implication
- Secondary 2022 official quote; does not establish plug-in age [historic_stock_2021].
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- not located
- Implication
- Capital gate; audit age, owner, warranty, activity and support.
- Value
- 89
- Unit
- official April 2025 fleet
- Implication
- Separate fleet programme with heavy-duty tools and procurement [bus_2025].
08
The service pool is transparent and deliberately conditional
TAM starts with the 5,975-unit customs cohort, applies a 97% active factor and 1.2 annual events. SAM applies 85% core-corridor concentration and 45% independent reach. Every conversion is an EVS assumption; current executable SOM is zero.
Assumption-led jobs/year; current SOM is zero.
Sizing assumptions
- Value
- 97
- Unit
- %
- Basis
- EVS haircut to cumulative customs cohort; validate via VIN census.
- Value
- 1.2
- Unit
- jobs/active vehicle
- Basis
- EVS planning assumption; includes diagnostic/chassis/HVAC events.
- Value
- 700
- Unit
- BBD/job
- Basis
- EVS nominal target; validate with paid jobs.
- Value
- 85
- Unit
- %
- Basis
- EVS assumption for St Michael/Christ Church/St James; island is compact but not uniform.
- Value
- 45
- Unit
- %
- Basis
- EVS assumption after warranty/OEM/unsupported/DIY exclusions.
- Value
- 2
- Unit
- BBD/USD
- Basis
- Fixed parity convention; freight and imported-parts risk remain.
TAM / SAM / SOM
- Vehicles
- 5,796
- Jobs Per Year
- 6,955
- Revenue BBD
- 4,868,500
- Status
- 97%-active customs cohort; assumption-led proxy.
- Vehicles
- 2,217
- Jobs Per Year
- 2,660
- Revenue BBD
- 1,862,000
- Status
- 85% core-corridor concentration × 45% independent reach.
- Vehicles
- 0
- Jobs Per Year
- 0
- Revenue BBD
- 0
- Status
- Zero until every cumulative gate passes.
09
Unsupported imports and fleet uptime are the first wedges
Prioritise grey/out-of-warranty owners and rental, tourism, corporate and government light fleets. Warranty-covered official vehicles remain with authorised networks unless referred. Ordinary hybrids and 89+ public buses require separate propositions [bus_2025].
Customer segments
- Need
- Battery health, scan evidence, charging faults, parts and support-boundary clarity.
- Priority
- Very high
- Need
- Cross-brand diagnostics, chassis/HVAC and transparent quotes.
- Priority
- High
- Need
- Do not displace warranty; written dealer/customer scope.
- Priority
- Referral only
- Need
- Separate tooling, safety, pricing and denominator.
- Priority
- Separate adjacency
Fleet segments
- Entry Product
- Uptime audit + preventive plan
- Evidence Gate
- Two LOIs covering at least 30 paid jobs/month.
- Entry Product
- VIN census, health report and SLA
- Evidence Gate
- Supported VINs and procurement route.
- Entry Product
- Rapid diagnosis + chassis/HVAC care
- Evidence Gate
- Operator interviews and paid bookings.
- Entry Product
- Excluded from phase 1
- Evidence Gate
- Separate heavy-duty capability and procurement programme [bus_2025].
10
Tooling follows supported VINs, not showroom breadth
MG, Nissan, Jaguar, Deepal, Suzuki, Jeep, Mercedes-Benz, Chery, Tesla, BYD and other imports create a mixed parc [megapower_models] [inchcape_launch] [dealer_sales_2026]. No audited registration share by model was located, so subscriptions, training and parts follow named VIN demand.
Priority brands — no audited market shares located
- Brand
- MG / Nissan / Jaguar / Megapower
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Current retailer/workshop portfolio; no audited share [megapower] [megapower_models].
- Brand
- Deepal / Suzuki / Jeep / Inchcape
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Current launch portfolio; dealer sales mix is not national share [inchcape_launch] [dealer_sales_2026].
- Brand
- Chery / Courtesy Garage
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Current dealer-reported market participation [dealer_sales_2026] [blpc_faq].
- Brand
- Tesla, BYD, Nissan Leaf and mixed imports
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Mixed parc expected; no VIN-level audited share.
Priority models
- Model
- MG4, MG5, ZS EV, Ariya, I-PACE
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Current Megapower portfolio; confirm VIN, warranty and tool access [megapower_models].
- Model
- Hunter, S05, Across, e-Vitara, Avenger
- Powertrain
- BEV / PHEV / REEV
- Signal
- Current Inchcape electrified portfolio [inchcape_launch].
- Model
- EQE
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Premium diagnostic/chassis opportunity with warranty boundary [inchcape_eqe].
- Model
- RD6 electric pickup
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Commercial/fleet adjacency through Megapower.
12In the full report
Start centrally; use collection and mobile routes elsewhere
A Bridgetown–St Michael–Wildey partner bay maximises central access. Christ Church is a clinic/collection corridor, St James a tourism/premium route, and the rest of the island mobile/referral only. Compact geography weakens the case for a second fixed site.
This section is in the full report.
13In the full report
Vehicle relief is material but classification-specific
Customs implemented/extended CPC 936 for the excise-duty and VAT holiday from 1 April 2026 [customs_2026]. Professional reporting says the Budget proposed extension to March 2029 and 10% import duty [kpmg_budget]. Obtain a written ruling on tariff line, customs value, eligibility and term for every vehicle or part.
This section is in the full report.
14In the full report
Model before tax and book no unapproved relief
The pilot is nominal BBD, indirect-tax exclusive. Standard VAT is 17.5%, the posted registration threshold is BBD200,000, and corporate income tax starts at 5.5% for taxable income up to BBD1m [bra_vat] [bra_cit]. Confirm any 2026 threshold change and group top-up-tax exposure [bra_topup].
This section is in the full report.
15In the full report
Workshop legality is a sequence, not one licence
The pilot needs entity/BRA/VAT setup, planning/use approval, licensed and inspected electrical work, utility acceptance, labour/OSH controls, annual fire inspection, EPD/waste routes and insurer approval [planning] [geed] [labour] [fire] [epd_haz].
This section is in the full report.
16
EVS must impose a task-based HV standard
No statutory EV-specific technician licence was located. EVS therefore requires named authorisation, observed isolation, live/dead/live proof, LOTO, rescue drills, licensed electrical work and insurer/fire-approved quarantine.
High-voltage controls
- Standard
- EVS HV authorisation
- Proof
- Training, observed isolation and annual reauthorisation.
- Standard
- Isolation and LOTO
- Proof
- Job-card timestamps, meter record and second-person check.
- Standard
- Rescue and thermal event
- Proof
- Quarterly drill and insurer/fire acceptance.
- Standard
- Electrical/EVSE work
- Proof
- Electrician licence, GEED application and certificate [geed].
17
No pack opens until a lawful custody route exists
EPD publishes hazardous-material and Basel controls and identifies ordinary automotive batteries/electronics, but no public traction-battery receiver list was located [epd_haz] [epd_waste]. Phase 1 performs non-invasive diagnostics only and refuses damaged-pack custody pending written acceptance.
Battery and waste routes
- Route
- Return through authorised OEM/importer with written custody.
- Status
- No removal/storage in phase 1
- Route
- Isolate vehicle and activate written fire/OEM/EPD route.
- Status
- Refuse custody in phase 1
18
Sell evidence and uptime before battery repair
Phase 1 focuses on scan evidence, battery health, charging faults, 12V, cooling/HVAC, tyres/alignment/brakes and fleet preventive care. Pack opening, module repair, damaged-pack storage and unsupported programming are excluded.
Recommended service portfolio
- Service
- Cross-brand diagnostic scan and battery-health evidence
- Scope
- DTCs, 12V/HV status and non-invasive evidence; no unsupported coding
- Margin Role
- High-value trust product.
- Service
- Charging, 12V and cooling/HVAC diagnosis
- Scope
- Vehicle-side diagnosis; licensed referral for premises wiring
- Margin Role
- Repeatable technical work.
- Service
- Tyres, alignment, brakes and suspension
- Scope
- EV-safe lifting/torque and ADAS referral as required
- Margin Role
- Volume and retention.
- Service
- Preventive plan and uptime SLA
- Scope
- Inspection cadence, priority booking and evidence dashboard
- Margin Role
- Recurring revenue.
- Service
- Pack opening/module repair/damaged-pack storage
- Scope
- No phase-1 custody or invasive repair
- Margin Role
- Prohibited until separate gate.
19In the full report
A managed partner bay preserves option value
EVS supplies the technical operating system, authorisation matrix, job-card controls and audit. The partner supplies compliant premises, people and ordinary workshop infrastructure. Franchise fees, territory and standalone lease wait for 90-day proof.
This section is in the full report.
20In the full report
The base case only clears after paid demand
At 360 jobs/year, BBD700 ARO and 62% gross margin, the model produces BBD48,240 annual EBITDA on BBD180,000 capex—a 3.73-year simple payback. The cautious case loses BBD48,600. These are EVS assumptions before VAT, income tax, debt, depreciation and working capital.
This section is in the full report.
21In the full report
The dominant risks are denominator quality, OEM capture and scope control
The investment can fail through an overstated active cohort, warranty capture, unsupported VINs, fiscal change, weak charging or unsafe battery custody. Controls are structural: no standalone lease, VIN-led tooling, written exclusions, deposits, lawful routes and stop-work gates.
This section is in the full report.
22In the full report
Ninety days should convert customs evidence into operating proof
The sequence is VIN file, partner audit, commitments, compliance, technical proof, suppliers and a paid pilot. Weekly reporting covers jobs, ARO, gross margin, turnaround, comeback, parts lead time, safety and referrals.
This section is in the full report.
23In the full report
Go/no-go gates are explicit and cumulative
A customs cohort cannot authorise capital. Demand, paid traction, economics, compliance, technical competence, battery routing and quality must all pass. Any safety, electrical, insurer or environmental failure stops the affected scope.
This section is in the full report.
24
Methodology
The report prioritises UN, Barbados government, regulator, utility and manufacturer evidence; records access dates; keeps data grains separate; labels EVS assumptions; and uses deterministic formulas.
Methodology
- Method
- UN, Barbados government/regulators/utility and manufacturers first; secondary sources only for quoted official/dealer evidence unavailable in primary tables.
- Method
- Customs imports, live stock, wider registrations, ordinary HEVs, buses and charging grains stay separate.
- Method
- Sum passenger BEV/PHEV customs quantities for 2022–2025 and round to 5,975; label 2022–2024 estimated and 2025 exact.
- Method
- Apply explicit active, service-frequency, core-corridor concentration, independent-reach and ARO assumptions.
- Method
- Compound the 5,975 cohort for five years to 2030 at 15%, 25% and 35%; scenarios, not official forecasts.
- Method
- Nominal BBD, indirect-tax-exclusive, unlevered, before income tax/depreciation/working capital.
- Method
- SOM remains zero until market, demand, traction, economics, compliance, technical, battery and quality gates all pass.
25
Source register
The linked register records title, publisher, publication date where available, access date, URL and use note. Dynamic APIs and pages should be archived in the diligence data room before investment.
26
Final verdict
CONDITIONAL GO for diligence and a managed Bridgetown–Wildey corridor one-bay pilot. HOLD a greenfield centre, franchise award, second fixed site and all traction-pack opening/removal/custody. Current executable SOM is zero until every gate passes.
Method / Sources and confidence
Where every figure
comes from.
Registrations, charging and legal requirements are read from primary sources. Where no official dataset exists, the model and its assumptions are published instead of a single unexplained number. This report is a dated snapshot: August 2026.
- 01UN Comtrade API documentation
- 02Barbados 2022 Passenger BEV imports — HS 870380
- 03Barbados 2022 Spark-ignition PHEV imports — HS 870360
- 04Barbados 2022 Diesel PHEV imports — HS 870370
- 05Barbados 2022 Ordinary spark hybrid imports — HS 870340
- 06Barbados 2022 Ordinary diesel hybrid imports — HS 870350
- 07Barbados 2022 Passenger-vehicle imports — HS 8703
- 08Barbados 2023 Passenger BEV imports — HS 870380
- 09Barbados 2023 Spark-ignition PHEV imports — HS 870360
- 10Barbados 2023 Diesel PHEV imports — HS 870370
- 11Barbados 2023 Ordinary spark hybrid imports — HS 870340
- 12Barbados 2023 Ordinary diesel hybrid imports — HS 870350
- 13Barbados 2023 Passenger-vehicle imports — HS 8703
- 14Barbados 2024 Passenger BEV imports — HS 870380
- 15Barbados 2024 Spark-ignition PHEV imports — HS 870360
- 16Barbados 2024 Diesel PHEV imports — HS 870370
- 17Barbados 2024 Ordinary spark hybrid imports — HS 870340
- 18Barbados 2024 Ordinary diesel hybrid imports — HS 870350
- 19Barbados 2024 Passenger-vehicle imports — HS 8703
- 20Barbados 2025 Passenger BEV imports — HS 870380
- 21Barbados 2025 Spark-ignition PHEV imports — HS 870360
- 22Barbados 2025 Diesel PHEV imports — HS 870370
- 23Barbados 2025 Ordinary spark hybrid imports — HS 870340
- 24Barbados 2025 Ordinary diesel hybrid imports — HS 870350
- 25Barbados 2025 Passenger-vehicle imports — HS 8703
- 26Trade statistics publications
- 27Transitioning fully to renewable energy
- 28Official says too many poor choices made with vehicle imports
- 29Over 181,000 vehicles driving traffic congestion across Barbados
- 30Barbados Licensing Authority services
- 31Barbados Licensing Authority opens customer service centre
- 32FAQs on the electronic vehicle registration process
- 33EVs, hybrids gain traction with consumers
- 34Charged — the future of mobility
- 35Mercedes-Benz EQE: the electric sedan reimagined
- 36Megapower 365
- 37Private vehicles
- 38Megapower vision and footprint
- 39Electric vehicles and Barbados — FAQ
- 40ChargePanel expands to Barbados
- 41Electric mobility in Barbados
- 42EV charging-station availability market coverage
- 43Donation of 30 electric buses brings fleet to 89
- 44Transport Board welcomes 35 new electric buses
- 45Barbados National Energy Policy 2019–2030
- 46Energy Transition & Investment Plan
- 47Sustainable Energy Investment Programme — Energy Smart Fund 2
- 482026 Budget Update — CPC 936
- 49Tax measures in Barbados 2026 Budget
- 50Corporate income tax rates
- 51VAT rates
- 52Corporation Top-Up Tax Act 2024-16
- 53Government Electrical Engineering Department FAQ
- 54Planning and Development Department
- 55Annual fire inspection
- 56Fire and life safety inspection guide
- 57Labour legislation
- 58Hazardous materials
- 59Waste management
- 60CARICOM Regional Electric Vehicle Strategy
- 61EVS Barbados decision-support model
Reports are commercial research, not legal, tax or investment advice.
Get the full Barbados report
The complete assessment — competitive matrix, location shortlist, incentive and regulatory detail, pilot-centre economics and the 90-day entry plan. Sent straight to your inbox.
Other markets in Caribbean.
Compare these marketsDominican Republic
5,630
Passenger BEV pool
Trinidad and Tobago
3,289
Light plug-in pool
Bahamas
1,393
Light plug-in pool
Jamaica
870
Light plug-in pool
04 / Not in your country yet?
Bring EVS
to your market.
Tell us your territory. We'll send the market research alongside the franchise pack and connect you with the team behind every EVS centre.