Market intelligence/South America/Report available
Ecuador.
Ecuador EV Service Centre Market Entry
Decision-grade EVS assessment of Ecuador for an electric-vehicle service-centre market entry, with official BEV sales evidence, explicit PHEV and charging-count gaps, scenario economics and gated execution.
BEV floor
9,733
Conservative documented 2025-H1 2026 new-BEV sales floor, not active stock.
Verified counts
0
No current authoritative audited national public-charger total was published; zero denotes verified counts available, not infrastructure.
Jobs/year
3,150
Assumption-led Pichincha+Guayas independent-reach annual service jobs.
Years
3.57
Base simple payback on capped USD 80,000 two-bay partner launch budget.
01/The verdict in full
Executive summary
- CONDITIONAL GO only for evidence gathering and a reversible two-bay Quito managed-partner pilot. Official SRI/AEADE data show 5,457 new BEVs in H1 2026 versus 1,512 in H1 2025, up 260.9%; full-year 2025 BEV sales sum to 4,276 from the official monthly series [aeade_jun2026_pdf].
- HOLD a standalone centre and franchise award. The 9,733-unit 2025-H1 2026 BEV floor is not active stock; PHEV is inseparable from HEV/MHEV in the published hybrid series, and no audited national public-charger count is available.
- Current executable SOM is zero. Active registrations, customer anchors, premises, insurance, technical data, technician competency and waste gates remain open.
- Do not open traction batteries. Reviewed rules establish hazardous-waste, lead-acid, tyre and oil controls but not a written damaged lithium traction-pack chain [maate_am026] [maate_bapu] [maate_nfu].
02
Board decision requested
Authorise up to 45 days of evidence and partner diligence. Do not sign a long lease, grant territory, release the USD 80,000 tooling budget or take vehicle custody until G1-G5 pass. If they pass, release a capped 90-day Quito pilot targeting 180 paid jobs, USD 225+ average repair order, at least 55% gross margin, no HV incident and non-negative EBITDA.
Decision Summary
- Decision
- CONDITIONAL GO
- Reason
- Evidence gathering and a reversible two-bay Quito managed-partner pilot only.
- Decision
- HOLD
- Reason
- No official active BEV/PHEV stock, audited charging count or proven independent demand.
- Decision
- HOLD
- Reason
- No audited multi-site demand, quality system or profitable pilot evidence.
- Decision
- NO-GO
- Reason
- Reviewed sources do not establish a written local damaged lithium traction-pack route.
- Decision
- 0 jobs
- Reason
- Market, premises, technical-data, people, insurer and waste gates remain open.
03
Market size and momentum
H1 2026 produced 78,185 new vehicles, including 5,457 BEVs; June alone delivered 1,438 BEVs [aeade_jun2026_pdf]. The bulletin also reports 14,139 hybrids, but that bucket combines non-plug-in and plug-in technologies. The report therefore treats 19,596 all-electrified units as adoption context only and uses BEV alone for service sizing.
Q1 2026 is partial and not comparable with full years.
Market KPIs
- Value
- 78,185
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- H1 2026
- Evidence
- SRI/AEADE [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Value
- 5,457
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- H1 2026
- Evidence
- SRI/AEADE [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Value
- 1,512
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- H1 2025
- Evidence
- SRI/AEADE [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Value
- 260.9
- Unit
- %
- Period
- H1 2026 vs H1 2025
- Evidence
- SRI/AEADE [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Value
- 14,139
- Unit
- HEV/MHEV/PHEV combined
- Period
- H1 2026
- Evidence
- PHEV not split [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Value
- 25.1
- Unit
- % approx.
- Period
- H1 2026
- Evidence
- (5,457+14,139)/78,185; not plug-in share
- Value
- 4,276
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- 2025
- Evidence
- Sum of official monthly series [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Value
- 1,438
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- June 2026
- Evidence
- SRI/AEADE [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
BEV adoption history and monthly acceleration
- BEV
- 4,276
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 4,276
- Scope
- BEV only; PHEV unavailable
- BEV
- 5,457
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 5,457
- Scope
- BEV only; six months
- BEV
- 612
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 612
- Scope
- monthly BEV
- BEV
- 661
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 661
- Scope
- monthly BEV
- BEV
- 925
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 925
- Scope
- monthly BEV
- BEV
- 894
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 894
- Scope
- monthly BEV
- BEV
- 927
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 927
- Scope
- monthly BEV
- BEV
- 1,438
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 1,438
- Scope
- monthly BEV
04
Definitions and evidence reconciliation
A central control is the refusal to relabel “hybrid” as PHEV. Secondary AEADE-linked 2023-2024 electric counts conflict, plausibly because of scope or data revisions [eluniverso_2024] [radio_history]. They are disclosed but excluded from the hard denominator. The official 2025 monthly and H1 2026 BEV series is the most internally consistent current anchor.
Definition reconciliation
- Included
- Vehicles powered only by electricity
- Use
- Hard service denominator; official monthly series.
- Included
- Published series combines HEV, MHEV and PHEV
- Use
- Context only; never treated as plug-in.
- Included
- Not separately disclosed in reviewed official bulletin
- Use
- Unknown; excluded from hard market sizing.
- Included
- BEV sales in 2025 plus H1 2026
- Use
- Conservative planning floor, not active stock.
- Included
- Sales floor x 98% survival
- Use
- EVS assumption; validate against ANT/SRI active registration file.
- Included
- Official AEADE map exists but no auditable count was published
- Use
- Count recorded as unavailable, not zero infrastructure.
05
Five-year scenarios
These are transparent compound-growth planning scenarios from the 9,733 documented BEV floor, not forecasts of registered stock. They exclude PHEV and vehicle retirements beyond the separate 98% survival assumption. Rebase after the active registration file is obtained.
EVS scenarios from 3,425; not official active-stock forecasts.
Five-year BEV planning scenarios
- Annual Growth Pct
- 20
- Stock 2031
- 24,219
- Interpretation
- Five-year planning scenario from 9,733 floor; not forecast
- Annual Growth Pct
- 35
- Stock 2031
- 43,643
- Interpretation
- Five-year planning scenario; PHEV still excluded
- Annual Growth Pct
- 50
- Stock 2031
- 73,910
- Interpretation
- Stress case; not investment case
06
Charging infrastructure
AEADE publishes a national interactive charging map, while ARCONEL requires commercial charging providers to contract with the electricity distributor and operates a maximum-tariff framework [aeade_charging_map] [arconel_charging]. Neither source exposes a dated, auditable national public-point total. The charging count is therefore unknown, not zero.
Counts and kW are shown only as evidence observations, not a combined network total.
Charging evidence and unknowns
- Value
- 0
- Unit
- verified counts available
- Period
- 10 Aug 2026
- Status
- unknown, not zero infrastructure
- Value
- 1
- Unit
- official live map
- Period
- current page
- Status
- locations shown; total not published
- Value
- 1
- Unit
- mandatory framework
- Period
- current
- Status
- distribution-company contract required
- Value
- 1
- Unit
- current annual schedule
- Period
- 2026
- Status
- maximum-price schedule published
07
Vehicle parc, age and service demand
INEC counted 3,138,562 registered motor vehicles in 2024, with 45.43% in Guayas and Pichincha [inec_transport] [inec_release]. No reviewed official source isolated active BEV/PHEV stock or BEV age. The plug-in cohort is demonstrably young from sales acceleration, so initial demand should centre on diagnosis, tyres, suspension/alignment, brakes, 12-V, HVAC, charging and used-EV battery reports.
Vehicle parc and service demand
- Value
- 3,138,562
- Unit
- vehicles in 2024
- Implication
- Large conventional aftermarket; BEV/PHEV subset is not disclosed [inec_transport].
- Value
- 45.43
- Unit
- %
- Implication
- Parc concentration supports two-city diligence, but is not EV-specific [inec_release].
- Value
- 41
- Unit
- % H1 2026
- Implication
- Quito is the first demand-test city [aeade_jun2026_pdf].
- Value
- 27.8
- Unit
- % H1 2026
- Implication
- Guayaquil is the second-city partner pipeline [aeade_jun2026_pdf].
- Value
- mostly recent
- Unit
- qualitative
- Implication
- Early demand skews to diagnostics, tyres, alignment, brakes, 12-V, HVAC and charging faults.
08
TAM / SAM / SOM — facts versus assumptions
The model begins with sourced BEV sales and labels every conversion as EVS assumption. TAM is a serviceable-pool model, not the national automotive aftermarket. SAM uses the 68.8% Pichincha+Guayas share of all H1 2026 new-vehicle sales as a location proxy and a 40% independent-reach assumption. Executable SOM remains zero until gates close.
Jobs per year; post-gate pilot target is not current SOM.
Sizing assumptions
- Value
- 9,733
- Unit
- vehicles
- Basis
- Official 2025 monthly sum plus H1 2026; sourced.
- Value
- 98
- Unit
- %
- Basis
- EVS assumption reflecting very recent cohort.
- Value
- 1.2
- Unit
- events/vehicle
- Basis
- EVS planning assumption.
- Value
- 250
- Unit
- USD/event
- Basis
- EVS pilot assumption; validate with 30 quotes and paid jobs.
- Value
- 68.8
- Unit
- %
- Basis
- All new vehicles H1 2026; EVS proxy, not an EV-specific fact.
- Value
- 40
- Unit
- %
- Basis
- EVS assumption after dealer/warranty capture.
TAM / SAM / SOM
- Vehicles
- 9,538
- Jobs Per Year
- 11,446
- Revenue USD
- 2,861,502
- Status
- National BEV floor x survival x service frequency.
- Vehicles
- 2,625
- Jobs Per Year
- 3,150
- Revenue USD
- 787,485
- Status
- Pichincha+Guayas proxy x independent reach.
- Vehicles
- 0
- Jobs Per Year
- 0
- Revenue USD
- 0
- Status
- All pre-launch gates open.
09
Customer and fleet segments
Lead with high-trust, non-invasive diagnostics and wear items. PHEV owners are strategically relevant but not sized. Fleet work should be contracted around uptime and evidence, not discounted retail labour.
Customer segments
- Need
- Transparent diagnosis, tyres, alignment, brakes, 12-V, HVAC and charging faults
- Priority
- 1
- Need
- Pre-purchase inspection and battery state-of-health report
- Priority
- 1
- Need
- Potential dual-system service; size only after PHEV file obtained
- Priority
- 2
- Need
- Multi-brand data coverage and parts pathway
- Priority
- 1
- Need
- Uptime, mobile triage, tyres and scheduled care
- Priority
- 2
Fleet segments
- Entry Product
- Depot audit and per-vehicle maintenance plan
- Evidence Gate
- 10-vehicle anchor LOI
- Entry Product
- Battery report, tyres and uptime SLA
- Evidence Gate
- Five-vehicle paid pilot
- Entry Product
- Charging support and mobile triage
- Evidence Gate
- Five-vehicle paid pilot
- Entry Product
- Mobile diagnostics and planned maintenance
- Evidence Gate
- Route and utilisation study
- Entry Product
- Tender-compliant readiness and warranty-safe triage
- Evidence Gate
- Programme eligibility
10
Leading brands and models
The H1 2026 model list is highly concentrated in fast-growing Chinese-origin platforms. BYD Yuan Pro led at 1,202 units, followed by BYD Seagull at 557 and Chevrolet Spark EUV at 540 [aeade_jun2026_pdf]. Tooling and data coverage should follow the top-20 observed model list rather than a generic “all makes” promise.
Leading H1 2026 BEV brands
- Brand
- BYD
- Units
- 2,120
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- 38.8
- Source
- Yuan Pro + Seagull + Yuan Plus + Sealion 7 + Dolphin, H1 2026 [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Brand
- Chevrolet
- Units
- 750
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- 13.7
- Source
- Spark EUV + Captiva EV, H1 2026 [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Brand
- GAC
- Units
- 338
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- 6.2
- Source
- Aion UT + Aion V, H1 2026 [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Brand
- Dongfeng
- Units
- 579
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- 10.6
- Source
- Nammi + Mage EV + Vigo, H1 2026 [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
- Brand
- JAC
- Units
- 266
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- 4.9
- Source
- E30X + E10X, H1 2026 [aeade_jun2026_pdf]
Priority models
- Model
- Yuan Pro
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 1,202 H1 2026 units; leading documented model.
- Model
- Seagull
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 557 H1 2026 units; high-volume compact.
- Model
- Spark EUV
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 540 H1 2026 units; OEM dealer competition.
- Model
- Aion UT
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 221 H1 2026 units.
- Model
- Captiva EV
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 210 H1 2026 units.
- Model
- E30X
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 204 H1 2026 units.
- Model
- Nammi / Mage EV / Vigo
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- 579 combined H1 2026 units; data/tool coverage priority.
11In the full report
Competitive landscape
OEM/dealer workshops retain warranty, proprietary data and pack authority. Independent propositions already market EV/hybrid battery-health or service capability in Quito and Guayaquil [coky_motor] [autocentro_supremo] [autonation]. EVS must win on verified competence, insurer acceptance, transparent evidence reports and fleet SLAs.
This section is in the full report.
12In the full report
Priority cities and regions
Quito/Pichincha is the pilot market because it represented 41.0% of all new-vehicle sales in H1 2026; Guayaquil/Guayas represented 27.8%, Azuay 9.3%, Tungurahua 6.1% and Manabí 4.1% [aeade_jun2026_pdf]. These are demand proxies, not EV-specific regional shares.
This section is in the full report.
13In the full report
Consumer and business incentives
Qualifying 100% electric vehicles receive zero-rate VAT and a USD 10 registration treatment; statutory definitions exclude vehicles with combustion-based self-generation, so PHEVs must not be claimed as eligible [aduana_zero_vat] [sri_ev_registration]. No direct national cash subsidy or workshop grant was evidenced.
This section is in the full report.
14In the full report
Tax and investment baseline
Ecuador uses the US dollar. The model assumes normal tax treatment for services, tools, parts and workshop operations and no investment grant. Obtain written local advice on RUC activity codes, VAT credits, income tax, payroll, municipal patent and customs classification before contracting.
This section is in the full report.
15In the full report
Company, workshop and labour licensing
A Quito workshop requires entity/RUC readiness, compatible land use and LUAE approval for the exact mechanical, HV and charging activities. Quito classifies mechanical workshops as category II and may require inspections [quito_luae]. Environmental, fire, electrical and insurer acceptance are separate gates.
This section is in the full report.
16In the full report
High-voltage and workshop safety
Ecuador’s Decree 255 creates mandatory occupational-safety duties, but the reviewed sources did not establish a nationally mandated EV-technician licence [labour_decree255]. EVS should therefore impose its own competency system: de-energise, isolate, lock/tag, verify absence of voltage, maintain calibrated tools, use a rescuer and quarantine compromised vehicles.
This section is in the full report.
17In the full report
Battery, waste and environmental controls
MAATE requires hazardous-waste generator registration where applicable and controls managers and transporters [maate_am026]. Separate REP routes exist for lead-acid batteries, tyres and oils [maate_bapu] [maate_nfu] [maate_oil]. None proves a damaged lithium traction-pack downstream chain; opened-pack work is excluded.
This section is in the full report.
18In the full report
Recommended service portfolio
Launch only non-invasive, repeatable services with explicit model and warranty boundaries. The centre should sell evidence: scan records, battery-health limitations, torque records, photos, calibration traceability and customer consent.
This section is in the full report.
19In the full report
Franchise and operating model
Use an EVS-managed two-bay cell inside an audited Quito partner. Hold exclusivity and franchising. The partner provides compliant premises and base labour; EVS controls tools, training, SOPs, data, quality and customer evidence. Guayaquil follows through mobile triage or a second audited partner only after proof.
This section is in the full report.
20In the full report
Pilot economics
All economics are EVS assumptions in nominal USD, exclude financing and tax, and assume USD 80,000 launch capex. Base annual economics require 720 jobs at USD 250, 58% gross margin and USD 82,000 operating cost, producing USD 22,400 EBITDA and 3.57-year simple payback. The 90-day base break-even is 142 jobs; the launch target is 180.
This section is in the full report.
21In the full report
Risks and mitigations
The largest commercial risk is not EV adoption; it is converting rapid young-fleet growth into independent paid work before warranty expiry. The largest safety risk remains damaged traction batteries. Both are controlled through evidence gates and a deliberately narrow launch scope.
This section is in the full report.
22In the full report
90-day entry plan
Days 0-45 close evidence, partner, licensing, technical-data, insurer and waste gaps. Days 46-60 commission the bay and drill emergency procedures. Days 61-90 run the paid pilot with stop authority. The clock pauses whenever a safety or licensing gate is not evidenced.
This section is in the full report.
23In the full report
Explicit go / no-go gates
Every threshold is a decision control, not a forecast. Failing G1-G5 prevents launch. Failing G6 stops or redesigns the pilot. G7 and G8 protect EVS from prematurely building a standalone centre or franchising an unproven system.
This section is in the full report.
24
Methodology and limitations
Evidence was reviewed through 10 August 2026. The report prioritises primary and authoritative sources, preserves unavailable values as unknown, reconciles conflicting definitions, and uses a conservative 2025-H1 2026 BEV floor. It is a market-entry decision model, not legal, tax, engineering or investment advice.
Methodology
- Method
- Separate BEV from PHEV and HEV/MHEV; separate sales flow, cumulative floor and active stock.
- Method
- Prefer SRI/AEADE, INEC, SRI, SENAE, ARCONEL, MAATE, Labour Ministry and municipal sources.
- Method
- Retain conflicts and unavailable splits as unknowns; never convert the hybrid series into PHEV.
- Method
- Use official 2025 and H1 2026 BEV sales only; apply explicit EVS survival, service-frequency, location and reach assumptions.
- Method
- Cautious/base/high growth and operating scenarios; zero grant and zero PHEV in base.
- Method
- Recalculate arithmetic, resolve references, inspect key links and translate missing evidence into gates.
25
Complete linked source register
The package contains a structured source registry with publisher, link, publication date where available, access date and notes. Quantitative claims in the narrative and datasets point to those identifiers. EVS assumptions are separately identified in the model source.
26
Closing position
Ecuador has crossed from “watch” to “prepare”: H1 2026 BEV sales exceeded the entire official monthly 2025 sum. It has not crossed to greenfield-build or franchise readiness. Close the active-stock, PHEV, demand, premises, technical-data, insurance and traction-pack gates, then test Quito reversibly.
Method / Sources and confidence
Where every figure
comes from.
Registrations, charging and legal requirements are read from primary sources. Where no official dataset exists, the model and its assumptions are published instead of a single unexplained number. This report is a dated snapshot: August 2026.
- 01aeade_jun2026
- 02aeade_jun2026_pdf
- 03aeade_bulletins
- 04aeade_anuario
- 05inec_transport
- 06inec_release
- 07aeade_charging_map
- 08arconel_charging
- 09arconel_territory
- 10sri_ev_registration
- 11sri_vehicle_tax
- 12aduana_zero_vat
- 13maate_am026
- 14maate_coa_reg
- 15maate_bapu
- 16maate_nfu
- 17maate_oil
- 18maate_faq
- 19labour_decree255
- 20labour_sut
- 21quito_luae
- 22quito_icus
- 23aeade_commercial_catalog
- 24eluniverso_2024
- 25radio_history
- 26eluniverso_h1_2026
- 27ecuavisa_apr2026
- 28coky_motor
- 29autocentro_supremo
- 30autonation
- 31suauto
- 32jacs
- 33evs_model
Reports are commercial research, not legal, tax or investment advice.
Get the full Ecuador report
The complete assessment — competitive matrix, location shortlist, incentive and regulatory detail, pilot-centre economics and the 90-day entry plan. Sent straight to your inbox.
Other markets in South America.
Compare these marketsBrazil
505,806
Recent plug-in service floor
Colombia
38,596
Active light BEV+PHEV stock
Chile
26,425
Gross plug-in registration proxy
Uruguay
23,875
EV sales floor
04 / Not in your country yet?
Bring EVS
to your market.
Tell us your territory. We'll send the market research alongside the franchise pack and connect you with the team behind every EVS centre.