Albania
EVS Albania EV Service Centre Market Entry
Decision-grade Albania assessment separating passenger-car BEV stock, mixed hybrid categories, registration flows, charging points and planned assets, with an auditable serviceable-pool model and stop gates.
Registered passenger BEVs at end-2025; mixed hybrids excluded.
Ministry point snapshot, 10 November 2025; not uptime or planned sites.
BEV pool ×98% active ×34.70% Tirana ×45% reach ×1.15 events.
Base shared-bay payback on ALL3,000,000 incremental capex.
The verdict in full
- Approve diligence and a reversible shared-bay pilot only. Albania had 10,938 registered electric passenger cars at end-2025, up 91.2% from 5,722, but only 1.29% of 847,191 passenger cars [instat_fuel].
- Do not count mixed hybrids as PHEVs. The 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other-hybrid passenger cars do not identify plug-in capability; EVS excludes all of them.
- The old wider parc creates adjacent demand. 91.05% of passenger cars were at least ten years old, supporting chassis, HVAC, tyres, brakes and pre-purchase work without proving BEV age [instat_age].
- Charging is thin and regulation is evolving. The ministry cited 254 charging points and acknowledged tariff/resale ambiguity; announced OSHEE Charge sites remain pipeline [oshee_charge].
- Executable SOM is zero. No capital or market-share claim is authorised until paid demand, DAP, safety, site, waste, insurer and quality gates pass.
Board decision
Authorise a 90-day diligence and paid pilot inside one compliant Greater Tirana partner bay, capped at ALL3,000,000 incremental capex. Do not lease a standalone site, sell a franchise, count mixed hybrids, open traction batteries or custody damaged packs. Advance only if the active Tirana VIN file, fleet LOIs, 50 bookings, written approvals, 90 paid jobs and four-year payback gate all pass.
Decision Summary
| Dimension | Decision | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Verdict | CONDITIONAL GO — capped Greater Tirana shared-bay pilot | 10,938 verified passenger BEVs and strong growth support paid proof, not an immediate standalone centre. |
| Greenfield/franchise | NO-GO / HOLD | PHEV, VIN, warranty, service history and lawful damaged-pack route remain unverified. |
| Core evidence | 10,938 BEV passenger cars at end-2025 | 1.29% of 847,191 passenger cars; 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other hybrids excluded [instat_fuel]. |
| Executable SOM | Zero today | No jobs or share count until cumulative gates pass. |
- Decision
- CONDITIONAL GO — capped Greater Tirana shared-bay pilot
- Reason
- 10,938 verified passenger BEVs and strong growth support paid proof, not an immediate standalone centre.
- Decision
- NO-GO / HOLD
- Reason
- PHEV, VIN, warranty, service history and lawful damaged-pack route remain unverified.
- Decision
- 10,938 BEV passenger cars at end-2025
- Reason
- 1.29% of 847,191 passenger cars; 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other hybrids excluded [instat_fuel].
- Decision
- Zero today
- Reason
- No jobs or share count until cumulative gates pass.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Strong BEV growth creates a credible pilot, not an automatic greenfield case
Passenger BEVs rose from 362 in 2020 to 10,938 in 2025 [instat_fuel]. The 2025 share was 1.29%. Current 2026 first-registration flows reinforce momentum, but they are not added to stock [dpshtrr_may26]. Mixed hybrid categories remain excluded.
Albania BEV passenger-car stock history
Official passenger BEVs only; mixed hybrids excluded.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Market KPIs
| Metric | Value | Unit | Period | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered BEV passenger cars | 10,938 | vehicles | end-2025 | Official fuel table [instat_fuel]. |
| Petrol+electric passenger cars | 5,023 | vehicles | end-2025 | HEV/PHEV not split; excluded [instat_fuel]. |
| Other-hybrid passenger cars | 3,348 | vehicles | end-2025 | Mixed categories; excluded [instat_fuel]. |
| Total passenger cars | 847,191 | vehicles | end-2025 | Passenger-car denominator [instat_fuel]. |
| BEV passenger-car share | 0.013 | share | end-2025 | EVS arithmetic; 1.29%. |
| BEV stock annual growth | 0.912 | share | 2024–2025 | 10,938 versus 5,722 [instat_fuel]. |
| Passenger cars at least 10 years old | 771,337 | vehicles | 2025 | 91.05% of passenger cars; not BEV-specific [instat_age]. |
| Public charging points | 254 | points | 10 Nov 2025 | Ministry snapshot [oshee_charge]. |
- Value
- 10,938
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- end-2025
- Evidence
- Official fuel table [instat_fuel].
- Value
- 5,023
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- end-2025
- Evidence
- HEV/PHEV not split; excluded [instat_fuel].
- Value
- 3,348
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- end-2025
- Evidence
- Mixed categories; excluded [instat_fuel].
- Value
- 847,191
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- end-2025
- Evidence
- Passenger-car denominator [instat_fuel].
- Value
- 0.013
- Unit
- share
- Period
- end-2025
- Evidence
- EVS arithmetic; 1.29%.
- Value
- 0.912
- Unit
- share
- Period
- 2024–2025
- Evidence
- 10,938 versus 5,722 [instat_fuel].
- Value
- 771,337
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- 2025
- Evidence
- 91.05% of passenger cars; not BEV-specific [instat_age].
- Value
- 254
- Unit
- points
- Period
- 10 Nov 2025
- Evidence
- Ministry snapshot [oshee_charge].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Definition-sensitive electrification observations
| Period | BEV | PHEV (unavailable) | BEV used in model | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 362 | — | 362 | Electric passenger cars only; PHEV unavailable [instat_fuel]. |
| 2021 | 624 | — | 624 | Electric passenger cars only; petrol+electric excluded. |
| 2022 | 1,245 | — | 1,245 | Electric passenger cars only. |
| 2023 | 2,891 | — | 2,891 | Electric passenger cars only. |
| 2024 | 5,722 | — | 5,722 | Electric passenger cars only. |
| 2025 | 10,938 | — | 10,938 | Electric passenger cars; 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other hybrids excluded. |
- BEV
- 362
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 362
- Scope
- Electric passenger cars only; PHEV unavailable [instat_fuel].
- BEV
- 624
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 624
- Scope
- Electric passenger cars only; petrol+electric excluded.
- BEV
- 1,245
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 1,245
- Scope
- Electric passenger cars only.
- BEV
- 2,891
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 2,891
- Scope
- Electric passenger cars only.
- BEV
- 5,722
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 5,722
- Scope
- Electric passenger cars only.
- BEV
- 10,938
- PHEV (unavailable)
- —
- BEV used in model
- 10,938
- Scope
- Electric passenger cars; 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other hybrids excluded.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Definition discipline protects the investment case
Passenger BEVs, all-road electric vehicles, mixed hybrids, first registrations, zero-kilometre shares, charging points, charger towers and planned sites answer different questions. The report preserves those grains and uses official passenger BEVs only for sizing.
Definition reconciliation
| Term | Included | Use |
|---|---|---|
| Electric passenger car | Included | Core registered BEV stock; 10,938 at end-2025 [instat_fuel]. |
| Petrol+electric passenger car | Excluded | 5,023 does not identify PHEV versus non-plug-in hybrid [instat_fuel]. |
| Other hybrid passenger car | Excluded | 3,348 spans heterogeneous combinations; no PHEV inference [instat_fuel]. |
| All-road electric vehicle | Cross-check only | 12,089 at end-2025 includes other road classes; not combined with passenger stock [instat_fuel]. |
| First registration / zero-km share | Flow only | 6,187 in 2025 and 4,939 Jan–May 2026 are flows, never added to stock [dpshtrr_2025_flow] [dpshtrr_may26]. |
| Approx. 16,000 electric vehicles | Context only | Ministry scope unclear; not substituted for official passenger stock [oshee_charge]. |
| Charging points / towers / planned sites | Separate grains | 254 points are current snapshot; OSHEE Charge towers and sites remain pipeline [oshee_charge]. |
- Included
- Included
- Use
- Core registered BEV stock; 10,938 at end-2025 [instat_fuel].
- Included
- Excluded
- Use
- 5,023 does not identify PHEV versus non-plug-in hybrid [instat_fuel].
- Included
- Excluded
- Use
- 3,348 spans heterogeneous combinations; no PHEV inference [instat_fuel].
- Included
- Cross-check only
- Use
- 12,089 at end-2025 includes other road classes; not combined with passenger stock [instat_fuel].
- Included
- Flow only
- Use
- 6,187 in 2025 and 4,939 Jan–May 2026 are flows, never added to stock [dpshtrr_2025_flow] [dpshtrr_may26].
- Included
- Context only
- Use
- Ministry scope unclear; not substituted for official passenger stock [oshee_charge].
- Included
- Separate grains
- Use
- 254 points are current snapshot; OSHEE Charge towers and sites remain pipeline [oshee_charge].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Planning scenarios deliberately decelerate recent small-base growth
Each scenario compounds the 10,938-unit end-2025 passenger BEV stock for five years to 2030 at 18%, 30% or 45%. The resulting 25,023–70,110 range is an EVS planning envelope, not an official target.
EVS passenger-BEV scenarios to 2030
18% / 30% / 45% CAGR from 10,938; not official forecasts.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Five-year EV planning scenarios
| Scenario | Annual Growth Pct | Planning stock 2030 | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 18 | 25,023 | 25,023 BEVs in 2030; growth decelerates sharply from small-base 2025. |
| Base | 30 | 40,612 | 40,612 BEVs in 2030; model availability and charging improve. |
| High | 45 | 70,110 | 70,110 BEVs in 2030; aggressive compounding, not a policy target. |
- Annual Growth Pct
- 18
- Planning stock 2030
- 25,023
- Interpretation
- 25,023 BEVs in 2030; growth decelerates sharply from small-base 2025.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 30
- Planning stock 2030
- 40,612
- Interpretation
- 40,612 BEVs in 2030; model availability and charging improve.
- Annual Growth Pct
- 45
- Planning stock 2030
- 70,110
- Interpretation
- 70,110 BEVs in 2030; aggressive compounding, not a policy target.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Treat 254 points as a dated capacity snapshot, not verified uptime
On 10 November 2025 the ministry reported 254 charging points, concentrated in Tirana, while acknowledging missing explicit charging regulation and tariff/resale ambiguity [oshee_charge]. Ten fast-charger towers, twenty simultaneous positions and three further Tirana sites were announced, not counted as live.
Charging evidence by incompatible measure
Current points, planned towers/positions/sites and tariff are separate grains.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Charging evidence and unknowns
| Metric | Value | Unit | Period | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public charging points | 254 | points | 10 Nov 2025 | Ministry national snapshot; uptime and connector power not stated [oshee_charge]. |
| First OSHEE Charge towers | 10 | fast-charger towers | announced Nov 2025 | Tirana entrance project; pipeline, not live [oshee_charge]. |
| First-site simultaneous positions | 20 | vehicles | announced Nov 2025 | Planned capacity, not an operating point count [oshee_charge]. |
| Additional Tirana sites | 3 | sites | announced Nov 2025 | Pipeline, not live [oshee_charge]. |
| Dedicated charging supply tariff | 22 | ALL/kWh | Nov 2025 policy statement | Supply tariff; not the retail price to drivers [oshee_charge]. |
- Value
- 254
- Unit
- points
- Period
- 10 Nov 2025
- Status
- Ministry national snapshot; uptime and connector power not stated [oshee_charge].
- Value
- 10
- Unit
- fast-charger towers
- Period
- announced Nov 2025
- Status
- Tirana entrance project; pipeline, not live [oshee_charge].
- Value
- 20
- Unit
- vehicles
- Period
- announced Nov 2025
- Status
- Planned capacity, not an operating point count [oshee_charge].
- Value
- 3
- Unit
- sites
- Period
- announced Nov 2025
- Status
- Pipeline, not live [oshee_charge].
- Value
- 22
- Unit
- ALL/kWh
- Period
- Nov 2025 policy statement
- Status
- Supply tariff; not the retail price to drivers [oshee_charge].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
An old national parc supports lower-risk workshop services
Of 847,191 passenger cars, 771,337—or 91.05%—were at least ten years old and 384,506 were over twenty [instat_age]. That supports chassis, tyres, brakes, HVAC and inspection-repair demand, but BEV age and warranty require the VIN file.
Vehicle parc and service demand
| Indicator | Value | Unit | Implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered road vehicles | 1,048,092 | vehicles | Large conventional parc; EVS sizing remains passenger BEV [instat_2025]. |
| Passenger cars | 847,191 | vehicles | Core vehicle-class denominator [instat_fuel]. |
| Passenger cars at least 10 years old | 771,337 | vehicles | 91.05%; supports chassis, brake, HVAC and pre-purchase demand, not BEV-specific age [instat_age]. |
| Passenger cars over 20 years old | 384,506 | vehicles | 45.39%; evidence of an import/age-heavy parc, not a BEV-age estimate [instat_age]. |
| Tirana passenger-car concentration | 34.696 | percent | 34.70% national anchor for first-city planning [instat_regions]. |
| Jan–Mar 2026 technical inspections | 95,659 | inspections | Adjacent service demand only; 88.8% passenger vehicles [inspection_2026]. |
- Value
- 1,048,092
- Unit
- vehicles
- Implication
- Large conventional parc; EVS sizing remains passenger BEV [instat_2025].
- Value
- 847,191
- Unit
- vehicles
- Implication
- Core vehicle-class denominator [instat_fuel].
- Value
- 771,337
- Unit
- vehicles
- Implication
- 91.05%; supports chassis, brake, HVAC and pre-purchase demand, not BEV-specific age [instat_age].
- Value
- 384,506
- Unit
- vehicles
- Implication
- 45.39%; evidence of an import/age-heavy parc, not a BEV-age estimate [instat_age].
- Value
- 34.696
- Unit
- percent
- Implication
- 34.70% national anchor for first-city planning [instat_regions].
- Value
- 95,659
- Unit
- inspections
- Implication
- Adjacent service demand only; 88.8% passenger vehicles [inspection_2026].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Serviceable pool starts with passenger BEVs only
TAM applies a 98% active factor and 1.15 annual service events to 10,938 passenger BEVs. SAM then applies the official 34.70% Tirana passenger-car concentration and a 45% independent reach assumption. ALL25,000 ARO is an EVS planning input. Executable SOM is zero.
TAM, SAM and executable SOM
Assumption-led jobs/year; current SOM is zero.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Sizing assumptions
| Assumption | Value | Unit | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Active/available BEV factor | 98 | percent | EVS allowance because registry includes temporarily deregistered vehicles [instat_theme]. |
| Annual service events | 1.15 | events/vehicle | EVS blended diagnostics, chassis, HVAC, tyres, brakes and fleet assumption. |
| Average repair order | 25,000 | ALL/job | EVS planning value; validate through 90 paid jobs. |
| Tirana concentration | 34.696 | percent | Official 293,945 of 847,191 passenger cars [instat_regions]. |
| Independent reach | 45 | percent | EVS assumption after warranty, capability and supported-VIN filtering. |
| Incremental shared-bay capex | 3,000,000 | ALL | EVS cap for tools/PPE/software/training/site adaptation; partner premises and ordinary lifts reused. |
- Value
- 98
- Unit
- percent
- Basis
- EVS allowance because registry includes temporarily deregistered vehicles [instat_theme].
- Value
- 1.15
- Unit
- events/vehicle
- Basis
- EVS blended diagnostics, chassis, HVAC, tyres, brakes and fleet assumption.
- Value
- 25,000
- Unit
- ALL/job
- Basis
- EVS planning value; validate through 90 paid jobs.
- Value
- 34.696
- Unit
- percent
- Basis
- Official 293,945 of 847,191 passenger cars [instat_regions].
- Value
- 45
- Unit
- percent
- Basis
- EVS assumption after warranty, capability and supported-VIN filtering.
- Value
- 3,000,000
- Unit
- ALL
- Basis
- EVS cap for tools/PPE/software/training/site adaptation; partner premises and ordinary lifts reused.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
TAM / SAM / SOM
| Layer | Vehicles | Jobs Per Year | Revenue ALL | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TAM | 10,719 | 12,327 | 308,175,000 | 10,938 passenger BEVs ×98% active ×1.15 events ×ALL25,000. |
| SAM | 1,674 | 1,925 | 48,125,000 | Active pool ×34.70% Tirana ×45% independent reach. |
| Current executable SOM | 0 | 0 | 0 | Zero until all cumulative gates pass. |
- Vehicles
- 10,719
- Jobs Per Year
- 12,327
- Revenue ALL
- 308,175,000
- Status
- 10,938 passenger BEVs ×98% active ×1.15 events ×ALL25,000.
- Vehicles
- 1,674
- Jobs Per Year
- 1,925
- Revenue ALL
- 48,125,000
- Status
- Active pool ×34.70% Tirana ×45% independent reach.
- Vehicles
- 0
- Jobs Per Year
- 0
- Revenue ALL
- 0
- Status
- Zero until all cumulative gates pass.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Used imports, out-of-warranty retail and fleets are the wedges
Prioritise supported used-import BEVs, courier/corporate/rental fleets and evidence-led preventive care. Warranty, recalls and security-coded work stay with authorised channels. Ordinary hybrids do not enter plug-in sizing.
Customer segments
| Segment | Need | Priority |
|---|---|---|
| Used-import BEV owners | Battery health, pre-purchase, charging and thermal-system evidence | 1 — diverse imported VINs and weak information. |
| Out-of-warranty retail | Cross-brand diagnostics, chassis, HVAC, 12V, tyres and brakes | 1 — only supported VINs. |
| New/warranty owners | Maintenance, tyres and transparent referrals | 2 — warranty/recall stays OEM/authorised. |
| Mixed-hybrid owners | Potential HV and cooling demand | Diligence only; no PHEV count and ordinary HEVs excluded. |
| Regional owners | Collection, mobile triage and scheduled clinics | 2 after Tirana proof. |
- Need
- Battery health, pre-purchase, charging and thermal-system evidence
- Priority
- 1 — diverse imported VINs and weak information.
- Need
- Cross-brand diagnostics, chassis, HVAC, 12V, tyres and brakes
- Priority
- 1 — only supported VINs.
- Need
- Maintenance, tyres and transparent referrals
- Priority
- 2 — warranty/recall stays OEM/authorised.
- Need
- Potential HV and cooling demand
- Priority
- Diligence only; no PHEV count and ordinary HEVs excluded.
- Need
- Collection, mobile triage and scheduled clinics
- Priority
- 2 after Tirana proof.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Fleet segments
| Segment | Entry Product | Evidence Gate |
|---|---|---|
| Government / municipal zero-emission fleets | Uptime inspection, 12V, tyres, HVAC and collection | Tender eligibility, VIN list and two paid pilots [consumer_policy]. |
| Courier / last-mile / corporate | Preventive care and turnaround SLA | Two LOIs covering ≥30 jobs/month. |
| Rental / tourism / airport | Seasonal inspection and fast turnaround | VIN list, utilisation and depot-charging audit. |
| Taxi / ride-hail | Safety inspection and off-peak service | Verified BEV/PHEV fleet and economics. |
| Roadside / insurer / bodyshop | Safe triage and referral | Written isolation, recovery and damaged-EV scope. |
- Entry Product
- Uptime inspection, 12V, tyres, HVAC and collection
- Evidence Gate
- Tender eligibility, VIN list and two paid pilots [consumer_policy].
- Entry Product
- Preventive care and turnaround SLA
- Evidence Gate
- Two LOIs covering ≥30 jobs/month.
- Entry Product
- Seasonal inspection and fast turnaround
- Evidence Gate
- VIN list, utilisation and depot-charging audit.
- Entry Product
- Safety inspection and off-peak service
- Evidence Gate
- Verified BEV/PHEV fleet and economics.
- Entry Product
- Safe triage and referral
- Evidence Gate
- Written isolation, recovery and damaged-EV scope.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
BYD scale is visible, but tooling still follows VIN evidence
Reuters reported 3,415 BYD vehicles sold in January–May 2026 and growing Chinese-brand visibility [reuters_chery]. This is not a BEV stock ranking. EVS buys subscriptions and training only after the active VIN file identifies supported models.
Priority brands — no audited market shares located
| Technology | Brand | Units | Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BEV/PHEV | BYD | 3,415 | — | 3,415 vehicles sold in Jan–May 2026 across powertrains; not an EV stock ranking [reuters_chery]. |
| BEV | Chery / Xpeng / Li Auto / Zeekr / Avatr | — | — | Current visible Chinese-brand competition; no authoritative EV registration units [reuters_chery]. |
| BEV/PHEV | Dongfeng / Forthing / Voyah / Mhero | — | — | Authorised local multi-brand distributor claims; no stock share [euroasia]. |
| BEV | NETA | — | — | Local official-distributor claim and Tirana presence [tirana_electric]. |
| BEV | Volkswagen / Audi / Tesla and used imports | — | — | Visible in local multi-brand inventory; no official stock ranking [tirana_electric] [autoeuropa]. |
- Brand
- BYD
- Units
- 3,415
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- 3,415 vehicles sold in Jan–May 2026 across powertrains; not an EV stock ranking [reuters_chery].
- Brand
- Chery / Xpeng / Li Auto / Zeekr / Avatr
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Current visible Chinese-brand competition; no authoritative EV registration units [reuters_chery].
- Brand
- Dongfeng / Forthing / Voyah / Mhero
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Authorised local multi-brand distributor claims; no stock share [euroasia].
- Brand
- NETA
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Local official-distributor claim and Tirana presence [tirana_electric].
- Brand
- Volkswagen / Audi / Tesla and used imports
- Units
- —
- Share of H1 2026 BEVs (%)
- —
- Source
- Visible in local multi-brand inventory; no official stock ranking [tirana_electric] [autoeuropa].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Priority models
| Brand | Model | Powertrain | Signal |
|---|---|---|---|
| BYD | Seagull, Yuan Up, Song Plus, Han, Sealion 7 | BEV/PHEV | High current visibility; supported-VIN and warranty boundaries before tooling [connect_drive] [euroasia]. |
| Volkswagen / Audi | ID.3, ID.4, ID.6, Q4/Q5 e-tron | BEV | Used/import and dealer inventory visible; security access and parts route by VIN [tirana_electric] [autoeuropa]. |
| Xpeng / NETA / Maxus | G9, NETA range, Dana V1 | BEV | Local availability; training and parts route must be verified [tirana_electric]. |
| Dongfeng group | Forthing S7, Voyah Free, Mhero 1 | BEV/PHEV | Authorised local portfolio; keep warranty work with network [euroasia]. |
| Tesla / other Chinese imports | Model 3/Y and multiple grey-import models | BEV | Tool, security, battery and parts fragmentation makes VIN gating essential [evcars] [duacar]. |
- Model
- Seagull, Yuan Up, Song Plus, Han, Sealion 7
- Powertrain
- BEV/PHEV
- Signal
- High current visibility; supported-VIN and warranty boundaries before tooling [connect_drive] [euroasia].
- Model
- ID.3, ID.4, ID.6, Q4/Q5 e-tron
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Used/import and dealer inventory visible; security access and parts route by VIN [tirana_electric] [autoeuropa].
- Model
- G9, NETA range, Dana V1
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Local availability; training and parts route must be verified [tirana_electric].
- Model
- Forthing S7, Voyah Free, Mhero 1
- Powertrain
- BEV/PHEV
- Signal
- Authorised local portfolio; keep warranty work with network [euroasia].
- Model
- Model 3/Y and multiple grey-import models
- Powertrain
- BEV
- Signal
- Tool, security, battery and parts fragmentation makes VIN gating essential [evcars] [duacar].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Importers and EV specialists already own customer relationships
Connect Drive, Euroasia, Tirana Electric Motors, Sena EV, AutoEuropa and general workshops form the relevant local set [connect_drive] [euroasia] [tirana_electric] [sena_ev] [autoeuropa]. EVS must win on cross-brand evidence, safe scope and fleet uptime—not warranty work.
Competitor map
| Competitor | Type | Footprint | Threat | Response |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connect Drive / BYD | Official partner claim | Tirana | High — warranty, parts and after-sales relationship | Out-of-warranty supported VINs, fleet overflow and evidence reports [connect_drive]. |
| Euroasia Automobiles | Authorised multi-brand network claim | Tirana | High — broad Chinese OEM portfolio and aftersales | Non-warranty scope, fleet uptime and referral partnership [euroasia]. |
- Type
- Official partner claim
- Footprint
- Tirana
- Threat
- High — warranty, parts and after-sales relationship
- Response
- Out-of-warranty supported VINs, fleet overflow and evidence reports [connect_drive].
- Type
- Authorised multi-brand network claim
- Footprint
- Tirana
- Threat
- High — broad Chinese OEM portfolio and aftersales
- Response
- Non-warranty scope, fleet uptime and referral partnership [euroasia].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Greater Tirana first; Durrës collection; clinics elsewhere
Tirana held 293,945 passenger cars, 34.70% of the national total, while Durrës held 118,488 [instat_regions]. Fier/Vlorë, Elbasan/Korçë and Shkodër/Lezhë remain referral or clinic corridors until paid density is proven.
Priority regions
| Rank | Region | Rationale | Mode |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Greater Tirana — Kashar / airport / Durrës-road industrial corridors | 293,945 passenger cars, 34.70% of national stock; main importer/OEM/EV cluster [instat_regions]. | One compliant shared bay plus collection. |
- Region
- Greater Tirana — Kashar / airport / Durrës-road industrial corridors
- Rationale
- 293,945 passenger cars, 34.70% of national stock; main importer/OEM/EV cluster [instat_regions].
- Mode
- One compliant shared bay plus collection.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Do not underwrite the case on unverified consumer support
A secondary policy summary reports favourable vehicle treatment and zero-emission public procurement [consumer_policy]. No current national cash purchase grant was verified. Every fee, tax and procurement claim needs transaction-date primary confirmation; none enters economics.
Consumer incentives
| Instrument | Status | Implication |
|---|---|---|
| BEV registration/vehicle-tax treatment | Reported favourable but exact current scope requires primary confirmation | Do not quote an exemption until DPSHTRR/tax confirmation [consumer_policy] [luxury_tax]. |
| Cash purchase subsidy | No current national passenger-BEV cash grant verified | No grant is advertised or modelled. |
- Status
- Reported favourable but exact current scope requires primary confirmation
- Implication
- Do not quote an exemption until DPSHTRR/tax confirmation [consumer_policy] [luxury_tax].
- Status
- No current national passenger-BEV cash grant verified
- Implication
- No grant is advertised or modelled.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Business incentives
| Instrument | Status | Action |
|---|---|---|
| Automotive-industry income-tax rate | Tax page displays 5% for automotive industry; workshop eligibility unclear | Obtain written ruling; model no concession [income_tax]. |
| SME / green investment support | Programme-specific and time-limited | No grant or soft loan included without an open call and award. |
- Status
- Tax page displays 5% for automotive industry; workshop eligibility unclear
- Action
- Obtain written ruling; model no concession [income_tax].
- Status
- Programme-specific and time-limited
- Action
- No grant or soft loan included without an open call and award.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Keep tax concessions and incentives outside the base case
Standard VAT is 20% [vat]. The tax authority displays entity/activity bands and a possible automotive-industry rate, but workshop eligibility is not assumed [income_tax]. Economics are VAT-exclusive and before income tax.
Tax and customs baseline
| Tax | Rate | Treatment |
|---|---|---|
| VAT | 20% standard | Pilot prices/economics exclude VAT; confirm registration and invoicing [vat]. |
| Income/profit tax | Entity/activity-specific published bands | No automotive concession in base case; obtain written advice [income_tax]. |
- Rate
- 20% standard
- Treatment
- Pilot prices/economics exclude VAT; confirm registration and invoicing [vat].
- Rate
- Entity/activity-specific published bands
- Treatment
- No automotive concession in base case; obtain written advice [income_tax].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
DAP, QKB and the full site file are opening conditions
Entity/tax registration, automotive-repair DAP, sanctioned use, electricity/load, fire, OSH, labour, environment/waste, insurer and data controls must all be documented [qkb_2025] [repair_certificate] [labour_documents] [akm] [privacy_law].
Licensing path
| Step | Evidence | Gate |
|---|---|---|
| Entity, beneficial owner, tax and employer setup | QKB extract, tax/VAT/payroll registrations and activity code | Written lawyer/accountant/QKB checklist [qkb_2025] [vat]. |
| Automotive-repair professional/activity certificate | DAP VII.3.B.1 and any technical-director/activity approval | No workshop operations without written DPSHTRR/QKB confirmation [repair_certificate]. |
- Evidence
- QKB extract, tax/VAT/payroll registrations and activity code
- Gate
- Written lawyer/accountant/QKB checklist [qkb_2025] [vat].
- Evidence
- DAP VII.3.B.1 and any technical-director/activity approval
- Gate
- No workshop operations without written DPSHTRR/QKB confirmation [repair_certificate].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Labour and safety obligations
| Requirement | Owner | Control |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 minimum wage | HR/payroll | ALL50,000 gross monthly from 1 Jan 2026; verify payroll and contributions [minimum_wage]. |
| Employment contracts/register/payroll | HR/legal | Maintain contracts, registers, payroll, hours, leave, permits and medical records [labour_documents]. |
- Owner
- HR/payroll
- Control
- ALL50,000 gross monthly from 1 Jan 2026; verify payroll and contributions [minimum_wage].
- Owner
- HR/legal
- Control
- Maintain contracts, registers, payroll, hours, leave, permits and medical records [labour_documents].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
No pack opens and no damaged pack stays on site
Albania’s 2025 integrated-waste regime expressly regulates batteries, while ADR controls dangerous-goods transport [waste_law] [adr]. A generic recycler is not written acceptance for a damaged traction battery. Phase 1 is non-invasive diagnosis and referral only.
Battery and waste routes
| Stream | Route | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Intact traction battery in vehicle | Non-invasive diagnosis; OEM/specialist referral where warranted | Phase 1 only within supported VIN/task scope. |
| Removed or damaged traction battery | Named authorised receiver, packaging and dangerous-goods carrier | Excluded until written acceptance, environmental, fire and insurer approval [waste_law] [adr]. |
- Route
- Non-invasive diagnosis; OEM/specialist referral where warranted
- Status
- Phase 1 only within supported VIN/task scope.
- Route
- Named authorised receiver, packaging and dangerous-goods carrier
- Status
- Excluded until written acceptance, environmental, fire and insurer approval [waste_law] [adr].
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Sell evidence, chassis care and uptime first
Launch scan/battery-health reports, pre-purchase inspections, charging/12V faults, cooling/HVAC, tyres, alignment, brakes and fleet preventive care. Pack opening, module repair, damaged-pack custody, unsupported coding and retrofit execution are excluded.
Recommended service portfolio
| Phase | Service | Scope | Margin Role |
|---|---|---|---|
| Launch | Diagnostic scan + battery-health + pre-purchase report | Supported BEV VINs; non-invasive | Anchor evidence product. |
| Launch | Charging/12V/cooling/HVAC/tyres/alignment/brakes | Qualified tasks with referral boundaries | Repeat lower-risk revenue. |
| Launch | Fleet preventive care, collection and mobile triage | SLA and uptime evidence | Demand stability. |
| Later gate | HV component replacement | Approved procedure, tools, staff, DAP and insurer scope | Selective high-value work. |
| Excluded | Pack opening/module repair/damaged-pack custody | No phase-1 work | Safety/legal boundary. |
| Excluded | Unsupported coding, warranty bypass or retrofit execution | Refuse/refer | Quality/legal boundary. |
- Service
- Diagnostic scan + battery-health + pre-purchase report
- Scope
- Supported BEV VINs; non-invasive
- Margin Role
- Anchor evidence product.
- Service
- Charging/12V/cooling/HVAC/tyres/alignment/brakes
- Scope
- Qualified tasks with referral boundaries
- Margin Role
- Repeat lower-risk revenue.
- Service
- Fleet preventive care, collection and mobile triage
- Scope
- SLA and uptime evidence
- Margin Role
- Demand stability.
- Service
- HV component replacement
- Scope
- Approved procedure, tools, staff, DAP and insurer scope
- Margin Role
- Selective high-value work.
- Service
- Pack opening/module repair/damaged-pack custody
- Scope
- No phase-1 work
- Margin Role
- Safety/legal boundary.
- Service
- Unsupported coding, warranty bypass or retrofit execution
- Scope
- Refuse/refer
- Margin Role
- Quality/legal boundary.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Base economics work only with a reused partner site
At 360 jobs/year, ALL25,000 ARO and 62% gross margin, annual EBITDA is ALL880,000 on ALL3,000,000 incremental capex—a 3.41-year simple payback. The cautious case loses ALL1,820,000. Values precede VAT, tax, finance, depreciation and working capital.
Shared-bay annual EBITDA scenarios
Nominal ALL, VAT-exclusive, unlevered.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Annual managed-bay economics (EUR)
| Scenario | Jobs | ARO ALL | Revenue ALL | Gross Margin Pct | Gross Profit ALL | Opex ALL | Ebitda ALL | Payback Years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 180 | 20,000 | 3,600,000 | 55 | 1,980,000 | 3,800,000 | -1,820,000 | — |
- Jobs
- 180
- ARO ALL
- 20,000
- Revenue ALL
- 3,600,000
- Gross Margin Pct
- 55
- Gross Profit ALL
- 1,980,000
- Opex ALL
- 3,800,000
- Ebitda ALL
- -1,820,000
- Payback Years
- —
Source: EVS Albania planning model
90-day pilot economics (EUR)
| Scenario | Jobs 90d | Revenue ALL | Gross Profit ALL | Opex ALL | Ebitda ALL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cautious | 45 | 900,000 | 495,000 | 950,000 | -455,000 |
- Jobs 90d
- 45
- Revenue ALL
- 900,000
- Gross Profit ALL
- 495,000
- Opex ALL
- 950,000
- Ebitda ALL
- -455,000
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Definition, scope and parts fragmentation are the critical risks
The model fails if mixed hybrids are counted, if temporarily deregistered units are treated as active, or if pack work begins without a lawful route. Supported-VIN tooling, deposits, partner premises and cumulative stop gates are structural controls.
Risks and mitigations
| Risk | Likelihood | Impact | Mitigation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hybrid categories misclassified as plug-in | High | Critical | Exclude all 8,371 mixed hybrids until authoritative PHEV split. |
| Registry includes temporarily deregistered vehicles | Medium | High | 98% planning factor; obtain active VIN file before capital. |
| OEM/importer capture and warranty conflict | High | High | Supported-VIN evidence, out-of-warranty scope and referral rules. |
| Used/grey-import tool and parts fragmentation | High | High | VIN-led subscriptions, task matrix, parts deposits and referral. |
| Charging regulation and uptime ambiguity | High | Medium | Field-audit points; keep current snapshot and pipeline separate. |
| HV or thermal event | Low | Critical | No pack opening/custody; isolation, rescue, quarantine and stop-work. |
| No lawful damaged-pack route | High | Critical | Written receiver/carrier/fire/insurer evidence before any removal. |
| Tax/incentive or procurement claims change | Medium | Medium | No grant/concession in base case; transaction-date confirmation. |
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- Critical
- Mitigation
- Exclude all 8,371 mixed hybrids until authoritative PHEV split.
- Likelihood
- Medium
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- 98% planning factor; obtain active VIN file before capital.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- Supported-VIN evidence, out-of-warranty scope and referral rules.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- High
- Mitigation
- VIN-led subscriptions, task matrix, parts deposits and referral.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- Medium
- Mitigation
- Field-audit points; keep current snapshot and pipeline separate.
- Likelihood
- Low
- Impact
- Critical
- Mitigation
- No pack opening/custody; isolation, rescue, quarantine and stop-work.
- Likelihood
- High
- Impact
- Critical
- Mitigation
- Written receiver/carrier/fire/insurer evidence before any removal.
- Likelihood
- Medium
- Impact
- Medium
- Mitigation
- No grant/concession in base case; transaction-date confirmation.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Ninety days must replace national aggregates with operating evidence
Secure the active VIN/locality file, audit partners, obtain fleet commitments and approvals, prove technical competence, build the ALL price book and run a 90-job paid base pilot. Weekly reporting covers ARO, margin, turnaround, comeback, parts, referrals and safety.
90-day entry plan
| Days | Workstream | Deliverable |
|---|---|---|
| 1-15 | Market file | Official active passenger BEV/PHEV VIN file by prefecture, age, brand, owner, warranty and first-registration date. |
- Workstream
- Market file
- Deliverable
- Official active passenger BEV/PHEV VIN file by prefecture, age, brand, owner, warranty and first-registration date.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Go/no-go gates are explicit and cumulative
A 91.2% one-year stock growth rate cannot authorise a centre. Market, demand, traction, economics, DAP/compliance, technical competence, battery routing and quality must all pass. Any safety, electrical, insurer or environmental failure stops the affected scope.
Go / no-go gates
| Gate | Threshold | Status | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|
| G1 — market file | ≥5,000 unique active supported BEV passenger VINs in Tirana catchment with age, brand, owner and warranty | Open | Fail = referral/mobile only. |
- Threshold
- ≥5,000 unique active supported BEV passenger VINs in Tirana catchment with age, brand, owner and warranty
- Status
- Open
- Decision
- Fail = referral/mobile only.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Methodology
The report prioritises INSTAT/DPSHTRR and national authorities, records publication/access dates, separates evidence grains, labels secondary evidence and EVS assumptions, compounds deterministic scenarios, and keeps current executable SOM at zero.
Methodology
| Step | Method |
|---|---|
| 1. Source hierarchy | INSTAT/DPSHTRR, ministries, regulators and official networks first; current trade press/local firms only for market visibility. |
| 2. Definition control | Passenger BEV, mixed hybrids, all-road electric, first registrations, zero-km shares, charging points and pipeline remain separate. |
| 3. Core denominator | Use 10,938 electric passenger cars at end-2025; exclude 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other hybrids until PHEVs are identified. |
| 4. Service pool | Apply 98% active, 1.15 events, 34.70% Tirana concentration, 45% independent reach and ALL25,000 ARO. |
| 5. Forecasts | Compound end-2025 passenger BEV stock for five years to 2030 at 18%, 30% and 45%; scenarios, not official forecasts. |
| 6. Economics | Incremental shared-bay model; premises/lifts reused; values before VAT, tax, finance, depreciation and working capital. |
| 7. Decision rule | Executable SOM remains zero; every market, demand, compliance, technical, battery, economics and quality gate is cumulative. |
- Method
- INSTAT/DPSHTRR, ministries, regulators and official networks first; current trade press/local firms only for market visibility.
- Method
- Passenger BEV, mixed hybrids, all-road electric, first registrations, zero-km shares, charging points and pipeline remain separate.
- Method
- Use 10,938 electric passenger cars at end-2025; exclude 5,023 petrol+electric and 3,348 other hybrids until PHEVs are identified.
- Method
- Apply 98% active, 1.15 events, 34.70% Tirana concentration, 45% independent reach and ALL25,000 ARO.
- Method
- Compound end-2025 passenger BEV stock for five years to 2030 at 18%, 30% and 45%; scenarios, not official forecasts.
- Method
- Incremental shared-bay model; premises/lifts reused; values before VAT, tax, finance, depreciation and working capital.
- Method
- Executable SOM remains zero; every market, demand, compliance, technical, battery, economics and quality gate is cumulative.
Source: EVS Albania planning model
Source register
The linked register records title, publisher, publication date where available, access date, URL and use note. Decisive workbooks, dynamic pages and legal texts should be archived in the diligence data room before investment.
Final verdict
CONDITIONAL GO for diligence and one capped Greater Tirana shared-bay pilot. NO-GO for a standalone centre; HOLD franchise rights, regional sites and all traction-pack opening/removal/custody. The case reopens only when every cumulative gate passes.
Source register
54 primary and derived sources
ShowHide
Source register
54 primary and derived sources
Get the full Albania report
The complete assessment — competitive matrix, location shortlist, incentive and regulatory detail, pilot-centre economics and the 90-day entry plan. Sent straight to your inbox.